We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening and stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great evening and stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A group of us attended the fab 'evening with Adele' last Friday and all of us had a wonderful time, nice welcome, good food served hot (never easy for a large group) and the amazing Amy Baker entertaining us. The room was clean, comfortable and breakfast the next morning just what you would want, again a group of us proved no problem and were accommodated together.
All the staff we meet were polite, smiling and able to answer any questions. Looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much Janet K!

We have had some great feeedback from our Adele tribute night! I was thrilled to read you also stayed over in your group and enjoyed the rest of the hotel!

I hope to see you at some more of our events.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    219
    58
    21
    8
See reviews for
158
186
30
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandhurst, berkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for Sunday lunch with my in laws, husband and two children (8&6). The food was so tasty, I had the roast beef, but also had some of my husbands pork belly. Best food I have tasted for sometime. We also had desserts all at a cost of £9.99 for two courses and £14.99 for three. Service was also brilliant, very attentive staff and also very helpful. We will definitely be going back for food.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much SuzannaP for a great review!

I do think we offer great value for money with Sunday lunch and so pleased you enjoyed it!

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked to stay at the Holiday Inn near Winchester with slight trepidation having heard some not such great things - we were very mistaken!

Welcomed by a very friendly receptionist who answered our various questions with ease about location of the wedding we were attending locally.

Comfortable room, very clean, perfect for what we needed (a place to crash after a family wedding!).

An okay breakfast the next morning - staff quite rushed, and standard buffet options. Would have been nice to have bread rolls/slightly nicer bread for toasting.

For the price we paid, we thought it was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Vv83,

I was concerned to see your comments, regarding your trepidation about joining us, however delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay!

Many Thanks

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here on business on 26th September '13 (room 264)

Very modern hotel about three miles outside of Winchester.

Positives:

- Excellent staff - polite, friendly and professional
- Convenient parking
- Well appointed bathrooms with a large bath with shower over
- Good quality food in the bar

Negatives:

- Did not receive my early morning call, despite booking it early evening and then checking again at around 11pm that it was set up, as I had a very important meeting to attend in Winchester the following day - unforgivable in a business class hotel!

- The toilet only flushed intermittently. On reporting this to reception at check-out, another customer overheard and commented that she had stayed at the hotel several times previously and that every room she had stayed in had been the same, including the one from her previous night's stay. In her words, she was "sick of reporting it". Again unforgivable, if this is a known problem that is not rectified.

- The hotel is very modern and whilst I usually enjoy staying in modern hotels, I found this particular one to be soul-less and devoid of any character whatsoever.

- The cooked breakfast looked very unappetising, in the way it was presented.

- No free wi-fi

- Too far from Winchester, to be classed as a hotel serving that area (in my opinion)


Summary:

If on business, I would only stay here again, if there was no availability in comparable hotels in the Winchester area.

If I was traveling with my family on a recreational visit to the area, I would avoid.

Room Tip: Only a low-rise hotel and generally quiet, so would probably make no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear John 1664

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Winchester. I wanted to personally thank you for the positive comments you have made about the hotel. I am very proud to have such a friendly team here at the hotel and I am glad that they made you feel welcome. I am also pleased that you were impressed with our parking, good quality bathrooms and bar food. Free car parking is a huge perk that our hotel offers and this is due to the fact that we are based 2.4 miles from Winchester City Centre. It also means that many guests choose to leave their car at the hotel and jump on the local bus for the 5 minute journey into Winchester - stress free and environmentally friendly!

With regard to your other comments i would like to apologise for the problem you experienced with your wake up call. This is now being investigated with the company who manage our telephone system and will be rectified immediately. With regard to the toilet flushes we are aware that on occasion there are problems and our Maintenance Manager is working to address these with one of our suppliers however it is not a problem that can be fixed overnight.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the presentation of breakfast. The hot items served at breakfast are presented in dishes to help the food retain its heat. I will check with the breakfast team to ensure that they are being regularly topped up and kept fresh. Finally with regard to wifi - we offer all hotel guests 30 minutes free of charge. After this there is a charge, however our gold and platinum loyalty members (members of the IHG rewards scheme) do receive 24 hours wifi free of charge.

John I am disappointed that you found the hotel soul-less and devoid of character. We are a modern, light and contemporary building with decor to match and our guests normally like the feeling of spaciousness that the hotel offers.

We take all feedback very seriously so thank you for your time and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 nights as I was coming over from Guernsey to accompany my daughter who was taking my granddaughter who was starting at university in Winchester. I booked the cheapest rate that I could, which included breakfast for "one or 2 people in a room". So, by booking 2 rooms, we only had 3 breakfasts. Which I maybe I wouldn't have minded so much had the food been good. It was very poor.

As we were tired on the night we arrived, we really did not want to drive the 3 or 4 miles into the city to eat. The restaurant menu was both uninspiring and expensive, so we ate in the bar, which was no better really. They charged £3.40 for a black coffee, which we thought was far too expensive.
This is not a 4 star hotel, but they are trading on the fact that there is nowhere else to eat in the area. This hotel is not near to anything. If a Premier Travel Inn were too open nearby, they would loose business, as this is not a 4 star hotel.
We only chose to stay here as the hotels in the city were full by the time our granddaughter got her exam results and knew where she would be studying, but we certainly would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Heathergy

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience however our rates are very competitive with all other local hotels. If you book a breakfast inclusive rate, the rate includes breakfast for either one guest or two, so if a couple are staying in a room they both can have breakfast.

Our menu is usually well received so I am sorry that did not live up to your expectations.

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

After a close family funeral I had to find somewhere to stay with my son to stay in the area overnight at short notice to see family from LA. This hotel charged me £159 for a twin room as I was informed, the Southampton boat show was on. One can't order funeral dates.

At least I hoped the stay would be okay. It was and it wasn't. The disappointments were no free wifi - at least my iPad and iphone5 could not get the 30 free mins the General Manager has stated on tripadvisor that there is, but there we are! The breakfast was average with tasteless sausages and the worst tasting coffee in years I've experienced. I didn't drink much of it. The apple juice was good though. At least also there was a shoe polisher, and the decor was stylish.

Having been to many hotels over the years this was one l left feeling that at half the price I would have given it another star or two. Disappointed after a sad day.....

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Andy X,

I was very sorry to read that you were in the area attending a funeral, it is such a difficult time for all.

I am quite alarmed to read your comments regarding wi-fi as we have a standard 30 mins comp code which everyone gets. Did you not receive this at all, or it just didn’t work?? If you have time could you let me know as I would like to investigate, info@hiwinchester.co.uk

Our sausages at breakfast are award winning sausages made locally, however as you have raised the issue, with our Head Chef, I will investigate if we can find anything better in the market place.

Thank you again for your review Andy X

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights from Friday 13th. Did not notice until arrival back in (overseas) home location that my reservation had been for £128.00 / night inclusive of breakfast however I had been charged £140, £160 & £135 / night instead. £51.00 over charge which due to international call rates means it is not cost effective to chase up.
Restaurant is good, had 2 good meals there, Elizabeth is attentive and knows the menu well, sadly the hotel also caters for coach trips which does make breakfast a more crowded affair than I would prefer. Wireless coverage is poor in-room which is not expected with todays technology

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear JustinDubai,

Thank you for your comments, especially regarding one of our team members, who I have passed on your lovely comments to.

I am very sorry that you have what appears an inaccurate bill. I do appreciate international calls are expensive so could I ask you to perhaps email me at info@hiwinchester.co.uk the name of your booking, your dates etc. so I can investigate this further. If we have made an genuine error, I apologise now and would like to rectify the situation immediately.

Thank you again for getting in touch and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.