We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Before You Choose From a Long List of Extras.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mow Cop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Before You Choose From a Long List of Extras.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ultra-modern, but bland steel-framed box three miles to the east of Winchester. Had room 302, an Executive Room, but no better than a Premier Inn room. The room doors shut loudly and heavily sending vibrations through the surrounding rooms. Room safe, iron, ironing board and a small fridge. Room service menu resembles that of a cheap pub-chain, I chose not to eat here. There is little to say other than average in every way, except the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Copyrightguilt,

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. Overall our guests are generally delighted with their stay. Our room service menu has been designed to reflect locally sourced fresh ingredients cooked to order, which I am sorry you did not like.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate all feedback.

regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    237
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
171
202
35
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Apologises for this late review. We were due to sail out of Southampton on the 26th April. We usually stay in Southampton prior to cruising but had wanted to visit Winchester on recommendation of friends for some time. Having secured a favourable price for half board by paying in advance of our stay, we chose this hotel as my partner is a 'priority member'. On arrival we were impressed with the modern airy reception area & friendly staff. We immediately had an upgrade to an Executive Room. Dinner was certainly a different experience to most Holiday Inns. This hotel has its own chef who cooks local sourced produce. The meal was excellent. No surprise locals frequent the hotel for dining out. Apparently this hotel, one in Manchester & 2 overseas are franchised so differ to the normal Holiday Inn hotels. We shall certainly stay here again prior to our cruises.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room which was at the end of the corridor overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Elizabeth E,

Wow! Thank you for such a glowing review! We do work very hard at our food and menus and we know so many of our guests appreciate locally sourced food cooked fresh to order!.

I hope you had a terrific cruise!

Many thanks

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved the warm welcome from staff at the check in desk. The rooms were large and the air con great. The bed were comfortable with a number of different pillows. Tea and coffee making facilities bit no mini bar - no big deal. The bathroom was small but very functional - the toiletries were average as you would expect from Holiday Inn. But they did the job. Breakfast was outstanding and plenty of choice.

My only complaint was the restaurant on the evening we arrived - the attitude of the one staff member was terrible - she was just officious and it bordered on being rude. I mentioned my displeasure with the check in manager she sorted it out - but then the menu was very limited - and being nearly 3 miles from Cambridge left us with a decision - the decision we made was cancel the booking and drive into Cambridge - found a wonderful Thai place.

Hope this helps.

Tom

Room Tip: Dont worry if you have a room on the -1 floor - you'll be closer for breakfast! HA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Tom R,

Thank you for your kind words in your review on your recent stay. I am delighted that generally everything was great. However I was made aware of the incident which has been addressed here with both the member of the team and her boss. I am truly sorry that this happened but delighted that Lizzie was able to assist you!

I hope it was Winchester you drove too and not Cambridge, as that really is a long way to drive!!

I hope that if you are in the area again that you will pop and see us.

Thanks again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Quiet impressive building, I believe the new generation of H.Inn. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Room very clean and modern. The bed let it down big time as it was a double but indented in the middle so not comfortable as you kept rolling into the centre. The restaurant was nice, staff very pleasant and knowledgeable, food was fresh and hot, not too big a selection which I think is a good sign. All in all I would recommend but watch out for poor mattresses!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear roombooker,

Thank you for your comments, although a little disappointed to read about your bed. Could you let me know which room number you were in so I can investigate further??
info@hiwinchester.co.uk

Thank you again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham, lancs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night in May. We had a double room with a fold away childs bed. The room was spacious abd very comfortable. The hotel generally is modern, light, and airy.

We popped into Winchester itself which is only a five minute drive down the road. It was on a Sunday so there was lots of free parking close to the centre. The sun was shining and it was very pleasant just strolling around the pretty town. On our return we ate in the hotel restaurant which was really good value and delicious. When choosing a main from the al a carte, children eat free. There were lots of other families in the restaurant hence it felt very relaxed. Breakfast was also yummy and check out was 11am. The staff are friendly without being intrusive. Overall I woulod highly recommend it and definitely consider this hotel group again. The only thing that could improve it would be a swimming pool - but that's just my thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much catait, for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much including the restaurant and dinner.

We like you, would love a pool but sadly due to location and planning this is not likely to happen.

Thank you again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Arrived at 9.00pm , reception staff were excellent, cheery and efficient.offered me a table for dinner however after a long drive just wanted feet up so had room service. One of the best I've had in any Holiday Inn.
Room was spacious , extremely comfortable and the free wifi (other holiday inns take note!) just made it go into the superb bracket.
In morning breakfast was above the usual Holiday Inn bland fare, checkout was efficient and the road pack water and a biscuit was a nice touch.
Well done to all at hotel, this is what every holiday inn should aspire to be like

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
How Fabulous Trigger131186487!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review!

We really do appreciate all feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

visited holiday in ,bank holiday weekend and it was a great experience.Stayed on a package deal,two night,B and B with evening meal.
The room was brilliant,very clean and comfortable
Food was fantastic and great value for money. I would recommened doing the package,as without it ,the food was expensive. Breakfast was good,great chioce but evening meal 9which indulded 3 courses) was amazing value
No negative points,easy to find and about 3 miles from Winchester

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Wow Catherinej,

Thank you for your amazing review which we really appreciate!

I am thrilled you had such a great time and enjoyed all the facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.