We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definitely be back! What a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I will definitely be back! What a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my wife. What an exceptional hotel. From the moment we arrived in the impressive lobby we were greeted by smiling helpful staff and nothing was too much trouble. The weather was not great during our stay so we decided to eat dinner in the restaurant. After talking to a member of staff I found out that the chef writes his own menu and sources his food locally with everything being cooked fresh to order and that this is the same in the bar too - how refreshing! We were definitely not disappointed. We had a great meal finished off by a fantastic cheeseboard with cheeses from the IOW and Winchester. I was even able to enjoy a pint of local real ale which is something that is very rare in a chain hotel. We enjoyed a great sleep and a very plentiful breakfast. The location was perfect for our visit to Winchester and we used the bus service outside the hotel to take us into the city centre each day. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
WOW Ron B,

Thank you for such a fantastic review after your recent stay. All of the team take pride in the fact we try and use as many local suppliers as possible from our food, local beers, water and printing to name but a few.

I know the team as I, always appreciate all our feedback and this is such a great one to pass onto the team!

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    225
    61
    21
    8
See reviews for
161
191
30
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel and rooms all appear nice but are completely impractical. Cheap bulbs that do not light the room, air con that doesn't work, shower takes 10-15mins to warm up, miniature wardrobe and poor tv.

The food is almost inedible! Mass produced filth...particuarly the breakfast sausages!

Additionally, attempting to charge a drink to your room is a military operation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear 123jp 123,

I was very upset to read your review after your recent stay. We always try so hard to ensure all our guests have a great stay which clearly did not happen on this occasion. However what is more upsetting is that having spoken to all the team, checking with all my Duty Managers, who are always available 24 hrs a day no one can remember anyone mentioning this to them, which appears very strange after you felt you had such a poor stay, that nothing was mentioned whilst you were with us.

We pride ourselves on being the first Holiday Inn in the UK to have won a rosette for our food, which the criteria means we use all locally sourced produce, individual prepared and cooked to order. The sausages you mention are from a local award winning butcher which are handmade.

All guests on check in are asked to leave a credit card imprint to allow you to charge additional items to your bill. If you decline to do this and then decide to charge items to your account, you will be asked to return to reception and leave authorisation for this to happen, which is the procedure in so many hotels across the globe. I am sorry if you felt this is a military operation.

I would be delighted to discuss your stay with you in more detail, so please do not hesitate to contact me at info@hiwinchester.co.uk

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very nice modern hotel. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Restaurant very nice with a good menu - I was trying to find something I didn't like rather than something I did.
Only disappointment was the room. The "low energy" lighting was very dull and the room felt very gloomy.
Despite a huge room with lots of dead space, the wardrobe size has to be seen to be believed, absolutely tiny. The all in one TV system was pretty poor, every time you switched on you need to go through six screens to get to the channel you want from the tinny sounding television. Also internet access is not free despite what it says on the web site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear pizzamark,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

For future use the tv channel can be accessed immediately by pressing a small button, TV, on the left hand side of the remote control, which as I agree going through all the screens can be time consuming.

All guest can have a free daily 30 minutes internet access code during their stay.

Many thanks for your comments

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here after a Xmas party and was very surprised how luxurious Holiday Inn seems to have become. My double room had a lovely deep bath that you could nearly lay down in and power shower that really helped wake me up in the morning! Although my room faced the main road, I heard nothing. The staff were lovely and helpful, very cheerful. Breakfast was good, and the wait staff very attentive. This hotel is not in Winchester city, you will require a car/taxi to get here, but there is loads of parking. Overall a very restful and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you so much Rebecca L!!

I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! We are the first of The New Generation hotels when we opened nearly three years ago.

I do hope you have a fantastic Christmas and thank you for taking the time to write a review at such a busy time of the year>

Hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, it is clean and modern. A bit character less. But the food is good enough, breafast is good and the staff are always friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Milage-Queen

Thank you for taking the come to write such a lovely review! It’s always great to receive feedback especially from our regulars!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked as a cheap option for a weekend stay as we were visiting the Christmas Market. We were really pleased with our whole experience. Communal areas were very welcoming and our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom didn't have an external window and so got very steamy but there were no mould spots and everything was immaculate. There were black tie dinners on both Friday and Saturday evenings but we heard very little noise and so had a restful nights. We ate in the bistro on Friday evening and again it was very good quality and value for money.
Would definitely recommend as it was a good location, excellent value and a great place to relax after a hectic day shopping with friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much klynnstan on a fabulous review!

We really do appreciate all our feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and had such a great stay.

Thank you again,

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My family and I stayed for one night at this Holiday Inn and it was great. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and had everything we needed and the breakfast was lovely. There were four of us (two under 7s) and despite not having any family rooms left Emma arranged for us to have a larger room with two fold away beds. The room was enormous and the fold away beds were great quality, we all slept like logs! The hotel isn't right in Winchester but it is a short drive from the Park and Ride which is really efficient at ferrying you in and out of the city and all for £3 per car load. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, as a family we have stayed in a fair few 'family rooms' and we all agreed that this Holiday Inn was top of our list (they even gave the children Christmas Activity Packs which were greatly appreciated). We forgot our toothbrushes and toothpaste and the staff swiftly issued us with complimentary ones, you wouldn't expect this great service from such a good value hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Wow Charlotte 2012_12,

What a fantastic review!! Thank you so much for your kind comments especially regarding our team. I have passed on all the comments especially to Emma who helped with your room.
I am glad the little ones enjoyed their Christmas colouring pack.

Have a lovely Christmas

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.