We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Public Areas and Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Woking
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spacious Public Areas and Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Holiday Inn at Winchester proved to be a really well run Hotel with above average size rooms and excellent lounge and Bar area.The Breakfeast was very good with an excellent choice of cooked and continental.We also eat in the Restaurant 1 evening and were impressed with the meal at a reasonable price for an Hotel.We had printed off a voucher when booking to get15% off the Bill.A good promotion to get you to stay at the Hotel.
Very easy to find with the help of Sat Nav-easy to get into Winchester by Bus taking advantage
of Bus Pass.Enjoyable stay would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Peter B,

Thanks for a lovely review! We are delighted that you had such a great stay and enjoyed our restaurant too! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    237
    62
    22
    8
See reviews for
171
202
35
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Peppa Pig World. When checking in my son received a colouring set and stickers and a balloon the next day, the Reception staff were lovely and helpful and efficient. Our room was a triple room with a z bed, the size of the room and ensuite was great, very clean and also had a couple of chairs to relax in, the z bed was a bit hard but the main bed very comfortable. We ate in the pub and restaurant which was ok food but the breakfast was very nice, lots to choose from and help yourself. The place was 2 miles from the town centre which I wish we had more time to explore as it looked quite quaint and beautiful cathedral. Overall we were very happy with this child friendly place and was about 20-30mins drive from Peppa Pig World. We were looked after very well and all the staff great with children.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Bolton_couple,

An amazing review! Thank you! We are delighted that you had such a great stay!. We always like to look after all of our guests, so thrilled your son enjoyed his colouring pack!

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here before traveling on ferry from Portsmouth, excellent location on outskirts of Winchester, very quiet. Impressive design of hotel rooms very modern, flat screen tv, comfy bed somewhat small bathroom but functional, excellent shower. Excellent check in service friendly and efficient. Ordered bar meal which was delivered in good time even though there were two coach parties eating in restaurant. Breakfast was a disappointment though, very limited selection, no bread roles, limited hot food and fruit, coffee like dishwater again (British hotels have no idea how to brew proper coffee) would stay here again but would avoid paying for the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Grindlehop,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. Although you had a great stay I am as disappointed as you that breakfast was not to our usual high standard. I know we were very busy but this is no excuse for you being disappointed which I can only apologise for.
Myself and the F and B team are looking into how this happened.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Their website refers to the hotel as the UK’s first new generation Holiday Inn Hotel, and it does not disappoint at all!! All I can say is carry on the good work with the design and refreshing decor.
We spent 1 night there. We booked the hotel via the Peppa Pig World site, which turned out to be cheaper that booking it via the hotel package deal at the time.
The hotel is modern, stylish. The staff are really helpful and professional, from the cleaner, to reception and waiters.
The family room was clean, comfortable and so quiet for a great night sleep.
The food at the restaurant was really lovely from both the children and adult menu. The drinks menu is a bit on the expensive side though. The children's food was free for any eating adults.
We would most certainly stay over again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Visitor047,

Thank you for a stunning review! We are very proud to be the first New Generation Holiday Inn and always try to deliver great service reflecting the hotel.
Thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart tasmania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the holiday inn, myself,my husband and my father who was celebrating his 85th birthday. We were not disappointed, this property was new,clean,well presented,well staffed,well located within 4 miles of the city,easily found, and comfortable. Initially it seemed very corporate, but we were made to feel very comfortable quickly. Dad enjoyed his large room,"is all this just for me" when siting the room! We had a lovely dinner, slept really well, had an adequate brekkie, before leaving.
I would recommend this hotel when visiting winchester and will personally return in the future.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear louieHobartTasmania,

Wow! What a fabulous review! The team and I really appreciate you spending time reviewing your recent stay and were delighted to read it! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed here when going out with friends in Winchester. I found it on the IHG portal and liked the great offer for a pre-paid room only stay - cheaper than staying in a B&B. As I was driving, it was easy to get to and had plenty of parking. The hotel is new and has a light airy and modern feel to it. The room was large and really quiet (as requested and offered by reception). Good comfortable bed, clean bathroom and amenities. Staff were very friendly too.
Only downside was the distance from the town centre - I expected it to be nearer. I was OK as I was driving, but it's too far to walk. However, at that price, you would probably still save money by staying here and taking a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Debs and Mark,

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon!

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed for one night at this Hotel Staff were very friendly and helpful room was Good however a few repairs had been botched in the Bathroom that you would have thought it would of taken just as long to do correctly.
Food and Beer expensive did not know about the shuttle bus or we would of eaten out!! Again beer failed so had to drink more expensive bottled beer

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear jonnyboy13317

Thank you for your review after your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed it.

Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.