We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little piece of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pulcinella

Pulcinella
16 Carlton place, Southampton SO15 2DY, England
023 80335100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 608 restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little piece of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a very tasty meal with my family on a Saturday lunch time. I love the Bedford Place area of Southampton, so this was a real find. Food was delicious, service was really good...friendly but not intrusive. Properly made coffees and hot choc to finish. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    13
    19
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Supper with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited Pulcinella on Monday 7th October with my parents for my mums birthday.

Once again, the food was delicious, the service excellent.

Had a lovely dining experience.

The antipasti was superb!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth it, especially with a discount”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited this restaurant in Southampton last month and used my new fine dining card.
The menu covers a large selection of pasta, meat and chicken dishes with specials and meal deals on different nights which seem popular. I have eaten at better but this restaurant is good for a basic meal, probably not for a special occasion though. My favourite dish is the pork in Marsala sauce, my friend reliably informs me that the burger is great and the chicken dishes are always good.
On a pleasant day/evening there is an outside terrace to enjoy while not the most special is still a nice find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ok restaurant in Southampton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a small restaurant on the outskirts of Southampton.
Not visited before, but as it was on Tastecard thought we would give it a go!
The food itself was good, starter was nice (Bruchetta one of the best I have had).
Pizza for main course was again good.
Unfortunately we ordered desert and coffee, but the coffee turned up first, and the cheesecake was disappointing.
There isn't really a great ambience, although perfectly fine, open plan eating area.
Not sure if this always occurs, but randomly at approx. 930pm a guy turned up and started singing live in the corner, which was a bit over-powering when trying to eat and have a conversation.
Would return, but only on Tastecard due to the good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian in Southampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was absolutely amazing and for the price it was abolutely fantastic. The manager was present when you needed him but didn't interfere. We will definitely be coming back here soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulcinella also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Pulcinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulcinella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.