We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great evening with great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceno

Ceno
119 Highfield Lane, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
+44 23 8055 4400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 638 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: CENO is a stylish and contemporary restaurant where the food comes first. Our aim is simple - to create innovative and delicious dishes that capture the imagination and tastebuds alike. To view our menus please visit our website.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Another great evening with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

2nd visit to Ceno. Food was great as was the service despite it being the busy Christmas period. Would definitely recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    62
    21
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, U.K
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Look forward to going”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellant quality of food, second to none.
The staff are very busy always, so sometimes you feel like you are always at them for things.
As the restaurant ceiling is low the noise in the place can be really bad, but as the food is so good you can put up with anything.
Have enjoyed everything i have ever had from there and can not wait until the next time

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Way too expensive for the quality of service and food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I read one reviewer had said that this was the best food in Southampton. Really?!!! This person either doesn't get out very often, their taste buds do not function as they should or Southampton has some very poor alternatives! Sticky tables, aroma of urine, London priced drinks, poor quality wine choice, can't be bothered attitude of staff unless you happen to be a local i imagine and tasteless food.
If you have money to burn, and you're after a poor meal then Ceno is the place for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Inigoes, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

On a recent trip to Southampton for our son's graduation from the University of Southampton, we stayed at the Highfield House Hotel and were delighted to find this gem right next door. We never went for dinner, but went to the lounge several times to enjoy a drink and some appetizers in the comfortable chairs after a long day of enjoying local sights.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we have been here a number of times and it is always the first choice on our list when dining out in southampton.
the atmosphere is warm and friendly and xavier the manager is second to none, always making us feel welcome and looking after our every need. the restaurant is 'cosy' and this adds to the atmosphere for me. the food is the best in the city by far and the beer/wine is excellent too.
the bar staff and waitressess also do the place proud with exemplary service.
anyone complaining about this place must be too hard to please, this is as the title suggests 'the best place in town'

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceno also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Ceno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.