We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for very ordinary food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kam's Palace

Kam's Palace
1 Bridge Rd., Park Gate, Southampton SO31 7GD, England
+44 (0)1489 583328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Worcester, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced for very ordinary food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

£30 per head for a set meal for four and some extras. Starters ok, crispy duck very good, but main courses very gloopy and bland. Singapore noodles ordered by one of our group were terrible, an enormous plate for not very spicy noodles with little in the way of bits in it - very disappointing. Service was very half hearted with waiters leaning across the table to serve wine to everybody.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    30
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is the best dim sum we have found in the vicinity of Southampton. It is not as good as London or Hong Kong, but it is yummy and local. The service is typical of Chinese restaurants, but what a lot of reviewers don't understand is that this is what service is like in the Chinese culture, be careful not to confuse rudeness with efficiency/directness. They are very hospitable to children and families and are very efficient. We like the food and restaurant as a whole and will keep coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Dim Sum Restaurant in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I've had dim sum from all over the world, Hong Kong, China, Holland, London etc, this I must say is simply one of the best. It's been a regular of mine for about 12 years. I highly recommend the Egg Custard Tarts, you'll need to be early as these sell out very quickly! I would say it's reasonable priced, I've been to restaurants that have been twice the price. All in all a very highly recommend authentic restaurant, that's quite a compliment coming from a trained Chinese Chef!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never Again!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Four of us had an evening meal here as a birthday treat for our daughter-in-law's birthday, the dim-sum we had for starters were inedible and had lumpy pork gristle in them, when the waiter was told he implied it was an acquired taste and made us feel bad mentioning it, the crispy chilli beef seemed to lack any beef, again when told, the waiter said that's how its meant to be, the noodles seemed microwaved and the whole meal was luke warm, most of it was left. when the waiter cleared the plates he asked if the meal was ok, the reply was 'not really' and we told why and said it was not a good eating experience and hoped he would learn from our honest feedback, he returned with the sweets menu and that was declined and we asked for the bill - THIS IS THE STINGER : they only had the bareface cheek to add 10% service charge to the bill, we crossed out the dim sum course and the 10% and told him that we would only pay x amount which we did, after we paid he just walked away - very arrogant and rude.

BE WARNED, the 10% service charge is always added, it is discretionary and you do not have to pay it so if the service is bad or the food not up to scratch do not be intimidated into paying it, also reading another review the credit card PDQ machine also invites you to leave a gratuity even though the 10% has already been added - unbelievable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good but shame about the hygiene rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I don't understand this place. It is nice looking and the staff are attentive and pleasant. The food is good and yes prices not cheap. But why the continual poor hygiene rating admittedly from last Feb 2013? Why don't the management put an explanation out as to how they have improved it or get it re-assessed or why don't they comment on trip advisor reviews to put people's minds at rest? Anyway, we are all ok 24 hours later so it can't be that bad. Only major issue is the chairs need recovering since like sitting on wood. It isn't my favourite but it was good and for once, it was a restaurant which had the full range of frozen desserts. Probably won't go back due to price but still an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam's Palace also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kam's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.