We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of dock o the bay

dock o the bay
69 the avenue, Southampton, England
02380339901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 638 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: dock o' the bay is a restaurant and bar with great food and service in a fun relaxed atmosphere.it's been open 13 years and in this time we've had so much fun and looked after so many lovely people.we have a huge amount of regular customers and these range from living just around the corner to in completely different towns, cities and even countries and we always welcome new visitors.trip advisor has been an incredible help to us over the past few years and long may it continue!come and see us and see what you think...
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food was fantastic, it was by far the best meal that I have had in a long time. The staff were friendly, attentive and served us with both personality and professionalism. I have drove past the place for many years wondering what it was like and I am so pleased that now I know. Thank you for a lovely evening and we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    104
    23
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked here for a birthday for Sunday lunch. There was 14 of us aged 1- 65 the food was lovely the service was good and as we had left it to the last minute they were very helpful in fitting us in.
The restaurant was also very clean and welcoming which is always nice to see, the roast's are excellent value for money as are the kids meals I would highly recommend a visit and we will be going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Dock o the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Since my daughter started her studies at Southampton Uni, this we found, is an ideal venue for eating, especially for Sunday lunches. The waiting staff have always welcomed us with good service, and decent food has been served each time. Having decided to sign up to the loyalty scheme, we were happy to return in order to get some discount. We were therefore just a bit disappointed when they were not willing to honour the discount(even though we spent close to £70) as we did not bring in the necessary documentation email, having deleted this. Whether this was just a simple error/poor customer service , or signs of less welcoming, I don't know, as we haven't been in a rush to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The Dock o' the Bay in Southampton is a good venue for a good Sunday lunch. The food is always well prepared and served by a dedicated young team. For anyone seeking something other than the traditional Sunday fayre, the menu is extensive enough for all tastes. The place clearly attracts its local eaters but always seems welcoming to visitors. To be recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I attended a wedding reception here last month, and was stunned at the quality of the food there. It was imaginative, beautifully presented, and the lamb shank was enormous and sooo tender! The staff were friendly and very helpful too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dock o the bay also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to dock o the bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dock o the bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.