We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of dock o the bay

dock o the bay
69 the avenue, Southampton, England
02380339901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 645 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $16 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: dock o' the bay is a restaurant and bar with great food and service in a fun relaxed atmosphere.it's been open 13 years and in this time we've had so much fun and looked after so many lovely people.we have a huge amount of regular customers and these range from living just around the corner to in completely different towns, cities and even countries and we always welcome new visitors.trip advisor has been an incredible help to us over the past few years and long may it continue!come and see us and see what you think...
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went there because of the reviews but were really disappointed in the food. The food was luke warm and had to be reheated. The roast potatoes were dry and tasteless and the carrots were overcooked and sugary. Service was good but the food could have been better for the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    97
    23
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Can't recommend this lovely restaurant enough.
Fantastic food (served promptly at our request as we were late for a show) and 1st class service.
Our only regret is that we didn't have time to try one of the desserts......needless to say we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
531 reviews 531 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Good value food, comfortable surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Had occasion to visit with student daughter and was impressed with the service, very attentive, and the comfortable surroundings, plenty of space, and value of the food. Jacket potatoe and fillings very generous. Salads imaginative by comparison to the often poor standard in many English restaurants. Duck wrap, hot, but mush rather than the shredded duck I was expecting, but overall very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“a little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we went to this restaurant when visiting my daughter who is at uni in southampton previously we had good food here, this time it was disappointing ? it was a fri nt & was busy
we all had the special mushroom starter lovely favours but barely warm
mains we had the pork belly which was good but colcannon to go with it was under seasoned tasteless & cabbage raw
only my daughter had pudding, but we all tasted it. it was discribed on the menu as gooey chocolate brownie but there was nothing gooey about it, dry apart from ice cream & not very nice
shame because its convenent from travelodge where we often stay

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Friday lunchtime the restaurant was busy but nothing to much trouble for the staff. The food was simply fantastic the portions are 'significant ' the food was freshly cooked. Not fast food but really good food served as quickly as you would expect but although busy certainly not rushed to finish and vacate table. The decor is simple but the whole restaurant was clean. Would certainly advise to book at any time as they certainly get busy. Good parking at rear of restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dock o the bay also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to dock o the bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dock o the bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.