We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kachina

Kachina
376 Shirley Road, Shirley, Southampton S015 3HY, England
+44 23 8078 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum, Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Lunch Spot, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Karaoke
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A good night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We have just eaten here u can eat as much as u won't for £15.90 the food was very nice and the staff were very good, friendly and attentive this is are 4th time we have been here and we will be back good value for money
Grate food grate staff

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen C, Manager at Kachina, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for leaving your feedback here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    15
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Honest opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Had read some negative reviews of Kachina, but my previous experience had been far from negative so went again last Saturday, early evening to see what had changed. Again I found the food really good and the staff attentive but not intrusive. One review had mentioned staff checking every five minutes, this was not our experience one or previously, found attention just right. Another review mentioned staff unfriendly, perhaps the problem was with the reviewer, found staff open and polite. There was a mention of average Chinese fare, well give me this as average anytime, in fact I think that was very unjust review, I am fussy and love the food here. So to anyone reading this I would say, go to this restaurant and you will experience good quality, hot food served by excellent staff. My one criticism is the flooring, just can't take to that.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen C, Manager at Kachina, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for leaving your feedback here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Wne on a friday night, 3 of us. Food was excellent and very tasty! Wine was a bit expensive, and this probably took the edge off the visit as we ended up spending the same on wine (2 bottles) as we did for food for 3 people. The buffet was excellent value with really good food an good portion sizes to keep you going back for more

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen C, Manager at Kachina, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for leaving your feedback here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We went to Kachina with my sister. The atmosphere didn't impressed me,i liked the music they were playing.As for the service it was really good but it's a bit annoying asking us every 5min if we are OK.the food was a nothing like really good.try the chicken soup with corn and the chilli chicken. Regarding the price..it was a bit expensive.The weekend would be ideal to visit as on weekdays is not full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen C, Owner at Kachina, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for spending your time to write us your feedback here. I am not sure if you are being sarcastic after reading your feedback. All our waiting staff have been trained to provide the professional service to every customer, so they will try their best to ensure if every customer had a good starter and the main meal. You mentioned that our staff keep asking and irritating you every 5 minutes , it seems that you are a bit too exaggerate. This is how we maintain our service, if this really makes you uncomfortable, please feel free to contact myself (Zen), You mention our service is very good, but this is how my waiting staff got rewarded (ANNOYING)
Regarding of the price, having as much as you want for £15.90 (STARTER: We got nearly 30 dishes for all you can eat and they are all freshly cook by the chef, don't forget you will still have your main course)* If you go to any pub to have 1 main dish,it is already cost you £8-£10 * Furthermore, we are doing buy one get second one for half price evening buffet, if you book a table in advance. That's bring your price down to roughly £12.50 per person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Pretty standard chinese food. We ordered delivery for a pretty large group and they got it to us in a pretty reasonable amount of time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen C, Manager at Kachina, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kachina also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kachina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kachina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.