We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pre theatre meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buon Gusto

Buon Gusto
1 Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GF, England
023 8033 1543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 608 restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Southampton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good pre theatre meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Popped in here recently when wife and daughter were going to see Priscilla at the Mayflower. reserved a table on line, confirmation within 24 hours. Restaurant was reasonably quiet when went in but was nearly full by time we left as more theatre goers came in. Had 2 courses of their set menu though daughter paid extra for the duck, don't you love kids! For starters two of us had Mozzarella which was really good, not stringy and nice touch with the pesto, wife had prawn cocktail. All very enjoyable. For mains daughter had duck which was well cooked, I had the spicey chicken pizza which was excellent and wife had the Risotto which again was very well done.

Service was attentive and a good atmosphere with all the theatre goers, mostly women so was pretty noisy!

Would definitely recommend if you have a trip to the Mayflower or even if been shopping in West Quay, 5 minute walk

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    91
    51
    28
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Post Theatre Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived here without a reservation on a busy early Saturday evening following an afternoon trip to the Mayflower theatre and luckily for us there were some no shows so we were fitted in. Upstairs was very congenial and buzzing with families and groups taking the pre- theatre menu . Despite the large numbers the atmosphere was friendly and convivial and like the best of Italian family run restaurants service is second nature. As it was only just past six pm the waitress relented and allowed us to order from the set /pre theatre menu (There does not appear to be any difference). Two of us had starters of prawn cocktails with ciabata, followed by pasta mains for three including Tagliatelle Salmon for my wife which she greatly enjoyed and I had an acceptable Sirloin steak which attracted a £5 supplement. My wife and I had a large glass of Montepulciano d'Abruzzo at £7.45 each which matched our mains wonderfully; my daughter had a soft drink and her friend a Beck's blue. This was followed by three large portions of Chocolate fudge cake and Fruits of the forest Panna cotta for myself-my favourite Tiramisu being exhausted . The bill for four came to £95.10 excluding great service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We ate here with the pre-theatre menu and thoroughly enjoyed the food and thought the service was absolutely brilliant. So brilliant in fact, that they were kind enough to post the theatre programme that my friend had left behind. We phoned them up and asked if the programme was there and as we were on the train back to bournemouth, I asked if they could post it to us. We were chuffed to bits when it came through the post, first class delivered as well.
This restaurant is perfect for a meal out to celebrate or as a meal before the theatre and you are guaranteed value for money and excellent service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok for a pre dinner meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have eaten here a few times and feel that they should up date their menu. The food is quite good but you don't seem to get much in the way of vegetables.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St John-in-Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Just a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visit Southampton occasionally and eat out when we do visit. After having tried the National chains that are about and been disappointed with them we came upon this restaurant by chance and decided to give it a go. Wow - What a find. Friendly welcome at the door and a professional service throughout. The food is top notch, well presented and you are not hurried along. Loved it here and have already booked a table for our next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Gusto also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Buon Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buon Gusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.