We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub in Oxford St” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White Star

The White Star
28 Oxford St, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
023 8082 1990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 638 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $1 - $78
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The White Star Tavern, is an award winning bar, restaurant and boutique guest accommodation set in the heart of Southampton's cosmopolitan Oxford Street district, renowned for its high quality restaurants and outstanding culinary diversity.Named after the famous White Star Line, the prominent British shipping company, the building still retains a unique charme and elegance and it is home to a fashionable bar and restaurante. The White Star has recently enjoyed a return to its former use as a hotel, recognized by the AA with 4 stars for our luxury guest accommodation.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good pub in Oxford St”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A nice pub with a nice atmosphere. Although when we went to visit it, it was fairly busy but even with a large group of us, we managed to find an area to sit. The pub itself is quite spacious and found the staff to be friendly and the service was quick.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteStarTavern, General Manager at The White Star, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments when posting this review.

It is great to read that you found the atmosphere to be nice and relaxing and even though busy, you noted that the service was both friendly and quick.

So often in our Industry, we find consistency in service to be a challenge particularly during busy periods and this is what we strive to achieve, I am pleased that you found this to be the case on your experience.

Thank you once again and I hope that we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    76
    41
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spanish wines night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Music a tad loud but aside that great food and wine and excellent service. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteStarTavern, General Manager at The White Star, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, following your experience at our Spanish Wine Dinner.

I can confirm that we will be holding a similar event on Wednesday 17th July, once again, with our wine supplier, Bibendum Wines.
The focus will be on French Wine and once again our Chef will be preparing a menu on a theme linked to the wines from that country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A good pub with fine dining in the back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was part of a group of 5 that had drinks and dinner at The White Star. Service was very good and the food was a cut about normal pub food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteStarTavern, General Manager at The White Star, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive feedback.

I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding both food and service to the staff, I do hope that you will have the possibility of sampling our Summer Menu, which will be available during the first week in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Really nice pub / restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This has a really nice individual feel to it, with especially interesting toilet art!

There is a variety of seating types, so you can sit around a traditional table, or on chesterfield sofas or arm chairs.

It can get very busy, so service can take a little while on occasions.

The food is always of a good standard and they often have live music, which makes an evening more interesting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food, well priced in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I regularly visit the White Star usually just for a drink with family or friends; on this occassion the four of us booked an ealry table (6pm on a Saturday) to eat. We were given one the window booths and the place soon filled up.
The menu offers some lovely freshly cooked food using local suppliers (very pleased to see Uptons Butchers supplying some of the meat products too so I knew it was using quality produce).
We all had three courses and two bottles of wine which came to just £136 in total; I also have a loyalty card that i can use here and other local restaurants which gives £1 for every £10 spent to use on your next visit.
The food was excellent and well paced. Service was also very friendly and there is a great atmosphere in this restaurant.
Definitely worth a visit, if you like things a bit quieter then I'd suggest a weekday to be sure to get a table to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Star also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The White Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.