We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuti's Brasserie

Kuti's Brasserie
37-39 Oxford Street | Southampton, Southampton SO14 3DP, England
+44 23 8022 1585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 673 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
truro
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we went on a Friday night did not book but we were early. the staff all dress in traditional costume which looks great. The staff were helpful regarding the menu as some of the dishes we had not seen before. lovely place excellent food and warm welcome. we also felt that it was very good value for money as the portion sizes were larger that we get at home for around the same price. would recommend to anyone staying or working in Southampton.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    82
    24
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I went to Kutis on a Thursday evening when it was quite busy. We were served quickly & the food was delicious. I liked the fact that there were dishes on the menu which you would not normally find in your usual indian restaurant. My only negative comment was in respect of the positioning of our table, which appeared to have been added in next to a large table, so it was a little squashed & overlooked. Other than this I was very happy with my evening there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ate here without booking on a very busy Saturday night. a table was found upstairs & we had the buffet. The food was very tasty & there was so much choice. The only downfall is always the desert choice as with most Indian restaurants. The atmosphere was nice & relaxed, the waiter was very helpful on food choice. A good buffet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having spent the day on the Solent we took a chance at Kuti's not having booked a table and it being a Saturday night ... we were not disappointed!

The staff who were delightfully dressed in traditional costume, were very welcoming and found us a table immediately. We selected to have the buffet and it was just exquisite.

The buffet's principle is eat as much as you like ... I immediately thought Oh, OK this will be mass produced "stuff" but I was so wrong. All dishes were just wonderful and I tried a little of many which was a treat.

I can't recommend this place highly enough! Its wonderful. We will return every time we are in Southampton and I urge all my friends to give it a try.

Thank you Kuti's for rounding off a day on the sea with such wonderful service and food with a really great value for money price tag :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great - Kept its reputation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I visited this Restaurant this weekend for the first time in over 8 years. It was great to see the guy in traditional Indian costume is still there, waiting to greet the customers as you arrive through the door. The Restaurant was extremely busy as it was the final weekend of the boat show. As expected the food was delightful and did not fail to tickle the taste buds (unless that was the green chillies in my Jalfrezi!) Staff were very attentive, however due to the volume of customers, I did feel the food took a little longer than it should have to have arrived. All said, it was worth the wait and it was great to see that after all these years, it is still somewhere I love to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuti's Brasserie also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Eastleigh, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kuti's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuti's Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.