We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRAP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of City Park Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Park Guest House to your Saves list
City Park Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 40 Southampton B&B and Inns
Andover, hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CRAP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just had 2 nights at this b & b, the double room was the size of a shoe box, carpets were dirty covered in hair and dust, furniture was cheap and falling to pieces, the reception was in the breakfast room which was full of a mish mash of old tables and chair, the breakfast was cold and we didn't feel welcome, i would have have rather been camping. Dawn

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
In response to your review.
When we purchased this property 10 years ago, all of the rooms had no en suite facilities. We have listened to our customers and the consensus was for the rooms to be en suite. In doing this it has made the rooms a bit smaller, we feel this compromise was worth it.
The carpet is not dirty, and I object to this. The furniture is not expensive but it all matches and is not falling to pieces.
The reception is in the breakfast lounge and I see no problem with that. We have four matching tables modern oak 1 year old with 2 different sets of chairs. This hardly constitutes a mish mash of furniture.
Your breakfast could not have been cold our breakfast is not pre cooked. Your breakfast would have been given to you freshly cooked.
I apologies if you didn't feel welcome. That would not have been our intention.
When I first read this I thought it was about another Guest house. This review is totally unfounded. We do not advertise ourselves as a 5 star hotel. We are a Clean B & B. that is exactly what you got.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    2
    0
    11
See reviews for
2
12
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

got back from somerset and needed a rest ,so i went to city park as i knew it to be park view ..glad i did go back andrew and his team have done a great job on the refurb of city park ..my one night stay and brekkie was fab ,can not ask for more from and upto date Guest House thank you .........................

Room Tip: if you want a doulble then ask to see them all if available..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your positvie review.
It means a great deal to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Our workman stayed at the Parkview Guest House for a period of over 3 months. Andy and Tracey were extremely accomodating, helpful and patient with us, they had a lot of last minute changes from us and always managed to sort us out. If we are ever back in southampton working we will be back there staying for sure. I would recommend this bed and breakfast. Thanku for all your hard work :-)

Louise
Construction Interior Design Ltd

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

we were very happy with our stay at the P,V,G,H......booked a double room, which was clean and tidy,a brill breakfast and a warm welcome,have booked for next month ,and will contiue to use this good B AND B............THANK YOU ANDY AND TEAM

Room Tip: ROOM 10 AND ROOM2....have been in both and they top my preferance.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The state of the room spoilt our long weekend. The room was supposed cheap at £55, but was certainly not value for money. The Premier Inn was only £10 more! The double bed was in the bay window and was draughty and there were 2 more single beds in the room. No hairdryer. The bed was extremely unncomfortable and dipped in the middle. No carpet to the floor. Towels extremely thin and no towel for bathroom floor. Bar of soap for sink but no shower gel. We were on the ground floor and windows were locked. When we lifted the blinds there were cake wrappers and crumbs from previous occupants. Also a pair of men's shoes had been left on the floor. Although a kettle and coffee sachets provided, there were no mugs on either days we stayed there. The shower had plastic flexible walls with holes around the plastic where the pipe came in. Couldn't take from breakfast room as only 5 mugs in there. Breakfast was very basic with marmalade and jam in plastic sachets, no kettle but a boiler so not a steaming hot cup to drink. No filter coffee. Bread was pre-sliced in plastic bag. English breakfast was provided but bacon was poor quality and no flavour, suspect cheap products. I asked to be moved but the other double room at the top of the house was musty and not enough room to walk around the bed. We never once felt comfortable here. Renovation is currently taking place to the basement. We were told there was parking or a permit would be supplied. No permit was offered and we had to park in front of the bay window, but this involved driving over a gap in the floor covered with wooden timber.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy l, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are always pleased to hear customers reviews, good or bad. There are a few things you mention that I would agree are not acceptable, for the rest I feel you are looking for faults that are not there.
The bed area in the bay cannot be draughty as the windows are new. They were not locked and never have been.
There were 2 single beds in the room because you had the family room. As you felt the double room booked for you, was too cramp, so we moved you. The mattressess are brand new and of high quality, we have since tested mattress there is no dip. I apologise If the mattress did not suit you, but everyone has a preference. We do not supply hairdryers or irons in the rooms, but you can obtain either from reception.
Your comment regarding no carpet is rather misleading. The floor has laminate flooring.
We do not provide shower gel, we are a bed & Breakfast not a Hotel.
I can only apologies for food wrappers and a pair of shoes left behind, as I say this oversight is not acceptable. Mugs again unacceptable, but you could have asked at reception and mugs would have been provided.
There was no filtre coffee, but thats something we will look to provide in the future. The water heater works on a timer and stays at same temperature, which is working as it should be. Jams and marmalade are provided in hygenic sealed tubs, bread pre sliced, I would say these are positive comments. Our bacon is provided by a local butcher, which is of excellent quality.
Parking was provided for you, , albiet under a bay window, but that is our parking area. We are in the city centre with limited parking, which you had.
You had to drive over a safe board to park your car. Renovation work was actually being carried out in the loft. The area you had to drive over was for utility supplies, but it was completeley safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I arrived after being at a rival BnB down the road, to find that this guest house had internet, and was the same price (bear in mind this was an extra star better). Its a superb location for the city centre (5 minutes walk away, if that). The room was comfortable, and clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was also to a great standard with a selection of cereals, and a decent sized fry up (grilled not fried). Overall id give this place a 9/10 on the basis of value and service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I have never stayed at a B&B so bad, we arrived at 2pm and lady behind reception said our room would be ready in 10 minutes, we then saw her go up with some cleaning products to quickly clean the room. Room really smelt, we could hear her push two single beds together from downstairs to make a 'double' room, bed covers had stains on them, everything was filthy. I have never written a review before but thought I should warn people about this place. We didn't even stay for breakfast in the morning as just wanted to leave. All this cost £75 for 1 night which is a complete rip off, never ever again !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Guest House

Address: 4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your City Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.