We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.com” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Southampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Southampton to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Southampton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Charlotte Place, Southampton SO14 0TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average.com”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are seeking a budget hotel this would do the job. Don't expect many frills...just the average things you would expect to fine in a hotel.
This is not a romantic weekend type location....but one could question if Southampton is necessarly first pick for a romantic weekend away!

I thought the staff attitude lacked charm at times....and check out was super slow.

Having done a couple of Jurys Inn now...I'm starting to wonder if Premier Inn is better value for money...

Room Tip: Near a busy road...so higher floors would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    342
    248
    107
    56
See reviews for
202
201
84
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal as we were visiting Peppa Pig World near by. The room itself was very good, it was a good size and very clean. The beds weren't amazingly comfortable but the room was an adequate size for me, my husband and our two young children which was the main thing. The breakfast was brilliant (the normal choices for a full english and delicious). My one criticism is that the staff were not overly friendly or particularly helpful. On arriving a travel cot had not been arranged and it took them a little while to arrange it for us, but they did in the end. We also got no real "Did you enjoy your stay?" treatment when we left. Maybe they don't care care. However, would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here in late September 2012 having spent the day at Peppa Pig World with our two little ones (3 and 1). We parked in the Charlotte Place car park, underneath the hotel - not entirely straight forward to find (use the road signs rather than a satnav) but convenient enough. I should add though that I had to return to the car at approx 7.30pm (on a Saturday night) to get some more bits out of the car, and there was a group of about 6 dodgy looking youths hanging around, smoking and drinking, near to my car. I put my head down and carried on doing what I was doing, and there was no issue, but slightly unsettling nonetheless. I wouldn't let me wife go down there on her own at any time of the day that is for sure.

We had two tired kids with us and a load of luggage, so although check in was relatively swift, it was ridiculous and extremely annoying to find that 2 out of 3 lifts were out of order. They were out of order for our whole stay (5pm Sat to 10am Sun), which in a large 12 storey hotel is pretty inconvenient. There is a service lift in the stairwell which you can (just about) get a double buggy and luggage in, although the staff were not too keen on people using it, and certainly weren't advertising its availability.

Lifts aside, our stay was generally ok. We ate in the bar on the Saturday night. Kids menu is £5.95 for 2 courses, with a few options to choose from, which we felt was ok. The adult menu was standard bar fare - burgers, steaks, tikka massala. We both had burgers (£8.95) and they were reasonable. I was pleased to find the Spurs - United game on, although the reception for ESPN was awful, the feed pausing every 30 seconds or so. Draft beer was all off which was annoying, and £5 per bottle of Magners as a subistitute didn't do much to appease.

We had a family room on the 7th floor - we found it fairly good, spacious enough for our needs, and the cot was in the room as requested (which doesn't always happen).

Breakfast in the restaurant was £10/adult for the all you can eat breakfast buffet. I thought this was good value, with a reasonable selection of fresh fruit, pastries, youghurt, cereal and hot items. Fairly reasonable quality too, I definitely got my money's worth.

All in all, this is a reasonable option for an overnight, especially if you can get an advance rate as we did (£52). Most guests seemed to be staying either to go to a wedding / for a night on the town, or the night before a cruise, or the night before / after going to Peppa Pig World. If that is a case, then it suits, but there must be better options if you want to stay longer I think.

I must say though that the staff were really nice, happy and helpful, especially when I lost my car park ticket on the Sunday, and one of the reception staff walked down to raise the car park barrier to let us out...

Room Tip: Use the road signs, not your satnav, to find the underground car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Its a little difficult trying to find the car park - and I know Southampton quite well!
Once parked, a couple of minutes stroll and you are in the reception.
Perhaps it was the time of day when I was in reception - but it was always very busy.

The rooms are clean and tidy, but very plain.
I personally feel the hotel is prcey for what it is.

Room Tip: They all seem to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late afternoon, went round the very busy roundabout 3 times trying to find parking, hotel room was clean and comfortable. Disappointed at breakfast, like being in a school canteen, no glasses for juice, no cutlery , then ran out of bread for toast, although when asked they did go and get us these items,

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you don't mind basic, this hotel caters for the traveller en route to the docks. It has comfortable beds, decent breakfast and a bar/restaurant.
Despite a very helpful receptionist who put our luggage in the holding room by Reception, actual room service was extremely slow.
We ran out of milk on arrival from our cruise. We were first given a double instead of the twin room we had booked. It was changed immediately with apologies. However, before going to the theatre in the evening, we had a couple of cups of tea and ran out of milk. Having asked for more at 3pm, it was evening before we got any more put in our room, whilst we were out!
A clean & comfortable stay for a very short visit only!

Room Tip: Ignore the Fitness Centre rating - I clicked it in error and can't delete it. We didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have used this hotel a few times and have to say it is still a great place to stay when staying in Soton. The staff, as always, were very helpful. The rooms are basic but are clean and have what you need for a short stay. Will be back soon. Can't understand the poor reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Southampton

Address: 1 Charlotte Place, Southampton SO14 0TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Southampton is ideally located in the heart of the city, just a 15 minute walk from the Central Rail Station and the Old Town. Conveniently situated for all the city's attractions the hotel is the best place to stay if you want to explore all Southampton has to offer - from the City Art Gallery and The Mayflower Theatre to WestQuay Shopping centre and O2 Guildhall Southampton. Hawthorns Urban Wildlife centre and Southampton Common are a leisurely 20 minute walk away for those looking for some relaxing time in nature. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the hotel's onsite car park, charges apply. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Southampton with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jurys Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Jurys Hotel Southampton
Southampton Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.