We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting ice cream or "Gellato" as they call it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tooti's Gelato Bar

Tooti's Gelato Bar
5a 6a Bedford Place, Southampton SO15 2BY, England (Formerly Toot's Gelato Bar)
+(44)02380 634 196
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Creperie, Bar, Coffee Shop, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great tasting ice cream or "Gellato" as they call it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Love the ice cream but it's the fresh waffles that are just amazing. Great place to take the kids for a treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    18
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, no decaf coffee - shame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Took the children for a treat, ice cream fab as usual, portion sizes are good, staff are friendly but sometimes a bit distant, sadly no decaf coffee which was a real shame. Would still recommend though. Look forward to my next trip. Loyalty cards would be nice......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cant decide between here and Sprinkles !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Myself, my daughter and two friends made a special journey here from Portsmouth. On first glance it is certainly very nice inside. Very clean and tidy and much nicer looking than Sprinkles up the road. I was slightly disappointed that the Breakfast menu was not being served that day due to the staff that were on had never done it before. I had the Honeycomb smash waffle which was lovely but needed more chocolate sauce, my daughter and friend agreed. My daughter had one with bananas and my friend had the Peanut butter one all of which were good. My 4th friend on the other hand had a crepe which she really did not enjoy, she felt it was very thin and not as good as Sprinkles (sorry). I ordered a second cappuccino which was forgotten about and I had to prompt the staff for but she compensated me with a large size instead of a medium. Upside student discount is a great feature especially for my daughter who has since returned. Downside. More sauce and crepes way too small for price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larajane84, Public Relations Manager at Tooti's Gelato Bar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello!
I am sorry that we did not surpass your expectations during your first visit to us.
Please email me at laracocker@hotmail.co.uk with the date and approximate time of your visit so that I can look into this further.
We have recently improved our crepe recipe and it would be helpful for me to know if this was actioned before or after your trip.
We usually use honey and not chocolate sauce in our honeycomb waffle so it would also be helpful for me to find out which staff we're working on that day especially as they do not seem to have had the required training to prepare our breakfasts.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered. I will contact you as soon as I have invastigated the points you have made and have rectified them.
Kind regards
Lara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good service and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went there with my wife on my birthday and we had two waffles the food was lovely and the service was great. Will definitely recommend this place. Staff are really friendly and gave me a surprise which my wife arranged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited here with family Saturday evening, it was lovely & quiet.
It's quite a large place with plenty of tables & seats. Very clean too.
Lots of variety of sorbets & gelato.
I had the Honeycombe smash waffle & it was absolutely gorgeous!! Can't wait to go back & have another.
Another family member I visited with had the Cinnamon mocha sundae which was huge! It looked amazing & she ate it all so must of tasted it too.
The only thing that let the place down to me was the fact that they had ran out of Chocolate flavour gelato which surprised me as being a popular flavour I would have thought they would have another a standby, this disappointed me a bit but nether the less I'll still visit again.
Staff were friendly & polite.
All in all can't wait to go back & would definitely recommend this place, it's better than other gelato's I've been to in the area!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooti's Gelato Bar also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Tooti's Gelato Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tooti's Gelato Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.