We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homecooked lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Gift Shop

Oceans Gift Shop
13, High Street, Southampton SO14 2DF, England
02381 781017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Shopping in Southampton
Type: Museums, Shopping
Attraction details
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely homecooked lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Soup, sandwiches and cream tea - delicious. The only idsappointment was the quality of the coffee - filtered chosen - maybe had been brewed for a while??

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic scones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Recently went here as a groupon offer but also a treat for my Nans birthday, museum ok, fairly interesting. The afternoon tea was great, friendly staff, very clean premises, helpful staff offered us more cream/jam etc, beautiful fine china, nice homemade sandwiches, scones to die for! Beautifully light texture and served warm, delicious! 2 large scones each, cream & 2 jam choices each; really yummy. They also bought over a homemade mocha cupcake compleate with singing candle complimentary for my Nans birthday which was a lovely gesture. Overall a very pleasant experience and even though we only went there as it was a groupon voucher we will most certainly be returning again very soon for more of the delicious scones.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Got this as a groupon for afternoon tea and exhibition visit. Firstly we weren't welcomed at all really, told to pick a table and there was no explanation as to how the offer worked or what was on offer. The tea was fine but the sandwiches were a let down- there was only egg mayo and salmon which given my friend doesn't like salmon meant he ate the egg and I had the salmon- no variety at all. The sandwich would equate to less than a single slice each with the crust cut off. The scones were ok, quite heavy but tasty but the cakes were actually unpleasant. They were minuscule and tasted awful. Eventually we got up ourselves and asked to look around the museum- I'd use the term loosely though. It's about 20ft square and has a few class cases displaying mainly sister ship items. There are very few things relating to titanic and nothing particularly informative. I learnt nothing I didn't already know from watching the blockbuster. After ten minutes of looking round we left and the gift shop is equally unrelated to titanic as the rest. The tea room could've featured some titanic theme- mock up white star menus for eg or replica tables maybe - something to make it an experience and a TITANIC experience but all in all this was very sadly lacking.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Titanic - Honour and Glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited Oceans for the Titanic exhibition.
The exhibition itself wasn't too great but the DVD on offer was very informative and worth the visit. What the exhibition lacked was clarity and better signs and explanation to each exhibit.
On the whole 3 GBP per head to watch a 20 minute DVD was good value for money and worth popping in if you are in the vicinity.
The cakes in the cafe looked lovely though, but we had just had our lunch so skipped it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went to the Britannia tea rooms on a groupon offer. The staff were friendly, the surroundings were good and I liked the idea of the information centre being situated inside and being able to leave your luggage there. The sandwiches were a disappointment. White bread with egg and chard, and ham and cheese. I thought there should be more variety and a choice of bread. The warm scones - 2 each - were a generous size and very tasty. Perhaps a little more cream would have been good. The cake portions were minute, 2 one inch pieces each. We had coffee which was freshly brewed and good and topped up. As a groupon offer it was good value but if I had paid the full price, supposedly £23.50 for 2, I would have been aggrieved.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Gift Shop also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Oceans Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Gift Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.