We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Woolston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal India

Royal India
38A Portsmouth Road | Woolston, Southampton, England
023 8048 3800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 673 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem in Woolston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went to the Royal India for first time yesterday, to celebrate my husband's birthday. Food & service were excellent & we were given lots of lovely complimentary extras. Will definitely be a regular now at this charming & delightful little restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    5
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best indian curry in town, with friendly service, and great food. Love going there with my family. Superb.... Very welcoming and relaxing restaurant. All should try this place. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Indian Gem - Fantastic Service, Fantastic Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A wonderful little restaurant with a lovely happy and relaxing atmosphere.

The service was spot on, the staff were all really genuine and friendly. The chef even came out to say hello and to check that everything was well with our food.

The food was superb and we were treated to a few extra yummy things complimentary of the chef. It was lovely to have warm poppadum.

We would really recommend this restaurant, it's a real little gem in an unexpected place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolston, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Southampton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff - awesome, the chef - awesome, the food - awesome, atmosphere and cleanliness - perfect! There is literally nothing to fault the Royal India on. I have been on 3 occasions and every visit has been as lovely as the next. I would highly recommend a visit for Indian cuisine lovers! We will definitely be returning for the food and friendly staff who are extremely accommodating and eager to please. It is really lovely to find a team so focused on the customer and their experience. 10/10!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“new name, same quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My Wife and I visited the restaurant for the first time since it changed it's name. We had an early meal (5.30) and just wanted a main course each. After we had ordered the waiter after about 10 minutes gave us a portion of onion bhajis on the house, which was very nice of them. The mains arrived and after a few minutes the Chef came out and asked if we were enjoying the food, as we were,. we said it was lovely. He went away but come back shortly with a side dish, also free . We told the waiter we had eaten there before several times and the food compared favourably with the last owners. Will certainly go back again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal India also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Royal India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.