We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai 2 go----The only place 2 go....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai 2 GO

Thai 2 GO
203 Shirley Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 3FJ, England
02380333933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 608 restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Delivery
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thai 2 go----The only place 2 go....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Have eaten over 40 meals from thai2go and every meal has been 1st class,friendly staff,great service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pornpan N, Owner at Thai 2 GO, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Many thanks for you wonderful review. We at Thai 2 Go hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    15
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic Thai food and good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Our first taste of Thai 2 Go has been fantastic. Thai food is our favourite and so we were keen to try Thai 2 Go as it is only round the corner - we have just enjoyed a delicious takeaway which was just as good as eating in a restaurant. Great flavour, quick service and good value. It was great to pick up our takeaway and see the fresh ingredients in the open plan kitchen. We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pornpan N, Owner at Thai 2 GO, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Ordered a takeaway for two, as have done many times before. One dish, the Massaman Beef Curry was very..."congealed". Very thick sauce, not like before, It wouldn't even pour out of the dish, I had to scoop it out. Made the rice really sticky and un-appetising.

The drinks were brought as a multi-deal pack, advertising 59p per can (price on the can!) but charge 75p on the website. Is this legal? Wasn't impressed this time. Felt very misled and let down. Will think about ordering there again

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pornpan N, Owner at Thai 2 GO, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
The cans of Diet Coke have a RRP of 59p displayed on them but we can charge what we like for them, so 'no' Amy it is not illegal. You have ordered from us many times before but have never left a nice review! Only when you think something is wrong you decide to leave a poor review, we find this very unfair and selfish of you. As for the Beef Massaman it is supposed to be thick, you would have received your food about 5 minutes after it was cooked so it would not have been congealed as you say, you could still poor the curry onto your plate with using a spoon to scoop it out. You are right about one thing though - You will not be ordering from us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Take away amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We ordered takeaway last night. 1 x prawn red curry, 1 x prawn green curry (which we requested specifically) and vegetable spring rolls.

The delivery was super fast. The food was very fresh. Spring rolls definitely home made and delicious. The green and red curries were very authentic and full of flavour - we specifically loved the herbs that were added! We've been to Thailand so know what real Thai tastes like and this is the place to go!!

Thanks for a lovely meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pornpan N, Owner at Thai 2 GO, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Many thanks for you wonderful review. We at Thai 2 Go hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
“Thai 2 GO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've just had our first experience of Thai 2 GO. Although the taste is good the website does not indicate the hotness of the dishes and so we felt the heat (tongue numbing, head scratching, mop brow type heat) and so left most of the dishes half eaten. We are North Indian in origin and so eat moderately hot dishes anyway. The portion sizes aren't what we are used to in comparison to our usual Chinese, 3:5 ratio in favour of the Chinese! Price wise 5:4 ratio in favour of our usual Chinese! Would order again but will order more dishes with half the heat as taste is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pornpan N, Owner at Thai 2 GO, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
If i was ordering a Thai meal from any Thai restaurant for the first time and I did not know which dishes were spicy hot, medium hot or mild etc, I think I would ask when ordering! Enough said.

The Thai chefs at Thai 2 Go can make any dish hot, medium or mild if specified by the customer.

Please do not compare cheap Chinese food with Thai food - Its an insult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai 2 GO also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Thai 2 GO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai 2 GO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.