We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind Blowing Day - Could be the start of a habit!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saber Powersports

Saber Powersports
Shamrock Quay Marina, Southampton SO145QL, England
01243 575428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 49 Activities in Southampton
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing Day - Could be the start of a habit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've had a few experience days, including a Lamborghini Murcielago and Ferarri 360 - This, hands down beats the lot!! My wife booked me on a Honda 150 Experience - 1hr on the water. It was booked a while ago, the voucher would have expired but Saber honored it as a pre-booking for this season, just the start of very good customer service! We arrived to a friendly face who guided us through the paperwork and handed out life jackets and waterproofs. Tim, our skipper (very professional), accompanied us to the boat and gave a quick safety brief. Once we were all aboard (in the very comfy seats!!) Tim drove us out and talked about the boat: A former Race boat, capable of 40mph, amazing handling, almost impossible to turn over and many more interesting facts. Tim also took the time to explain that it was our experience, to get the most out of, he explained that there were no limits and unlike many other experience days I've been on, we were to push the boat to the limits! Tim showed us what it was capable of (not too long, only about 2mins of the hour available), which was a good confidence boost, then it was our turn! I have driven a Porsche, motorbikes and now have a Lotus: This experience is incredible, and I mean VERY incredible!!! We drove it over the wakes of ships catching good air, flung it around buoys, chased other RIBS, it was everything it could ever have been and more!! At the end, we were all given a voucher with a healthy reduction on future sales - I've already dropped the first hint to my WONDERFUL WIFE!!!

This was great as a solo experience, also to groups of friends / work mates. As a manager, I'd even consider this as the start to a team building exercise, for the right team. I'd stress this is not just a blokey thing either, girls will have cracking fun too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    9
    2
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eckington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a brilliant day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a days power boating with Saber Powersports, with my future son in law and his work colleagues. What a fun and exciting day we had, plus the weather was brilliant. The safety briefings were really good and they will lend you a jacket and the all important life jacket. We had been informed that the usual lunch location was not available, so went out on the Solent and had a fantastic time travelling across the water at 50mph. We luckily ended up at Cowes on the Isle of Wight, which took no time at all to get to. But we didn't go there straight away anyway. We had a great meal at the Lifeboat pub, then back into the boats for some more fun and timed circuits. I reckon this was the best day out I have had for ages. Wear your sunglasses if sunny, it does get blowy in the front driving. Sitting in the back is a different experience, both of which I want to do again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thrills, Chills and no Spills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great experience with Saber (Honda Powerboat 150)
Welcoming and helpful staff, very well organised

Truly thrilling experience, but quite cold (my own fault really, as you can imagine doing circa 50mph, in an open vessel, in May in the UK was a bit chilly)

Glasses are I would say essential (especially when driving the boat) and Saber do recommend them on the literature you receive if you book through Red Letter days as I did, but otherwise you may not be aware

All in all a fantastic session, a real speed rush !!!


…..No trees were killed in the creation of this message. However, many electrons were terribly inconvenienced…..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Saber Powersports Honda 150”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow, what a great experience. Received warm welcome, great instructor (thanks Emily). Its exhilarating, very fast and not to be missed. I will be going back for more.......

Geoff

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Saber Powersports = Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A brilliant day out, hyper speeds in top class boats and very friendly staff to top the day off. A++++++

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saber Powersports also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Saber Powersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saber Powersports, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.