We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre Christmas Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Wellington

Duke of Wellington
36 Bugle st, Southampton SO14 2AH, England
23 80339222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 673 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pre Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked not knowing Southampton and desperate to find somewhere for family get together whilst son's ship in port for the day. Excellent food, atmosphere, service and value meaning we could enjoy our short time together.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    58
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I booked the upstairs room at the Duke of Wellington for my works party and genuinely vannot find one negative thing to say!

Firstly, planning the party was an absolute pleasure thanks to the wonderful Landlady Lynn. She couldn't have been more helpful in catering to our needs and made the whole experience run as smoothly as possible.

Then there is the actual building itself. The room was stunning, with it's open log fire and 10 foot Christmas Tree, I really don't think we could have found a better venue.

Our party was for 30 people, who all were eating a 3 course meal. The food was of the highest standard and the portions were absolutely huge! Honestly, the best food I have ever had at w works party.

The whole say/evening was wonderful and really cannot thank the staff enough. Perfect!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A warming traditional lunch with good beer at a nice pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We lunched at the Duke after visiting Tudor House. I was pleased at the wide range of real ales on offer and these complemented the good and hearty lunch menu offering. My beer battered fish & chips drew envious glances from my wife as she tucked into her nicely presented Tuna Jacket. Other friends were very complementary about their meals. I could have sat there all afternoon gently savouring the atmosphere and small samples of all those beers!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old World Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This gem is hidden away in the old town of Southampton . With a variety of Real Ales and old world charm . The ales are well kept , with a good variety between light /dark and strong and weak.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Visited here for a meal in the evening when visiting our son at Uni. He had the cheeseburger and thought it was FANTASTIC. It looked pretty good too. The burger looked great quality meat and the salad was fresh and colourful. My fish and chips was amazing and there was no problem when I asked for extra tartar sauce. My husband had the chicken korma, not the best he had ever had he said but OK. Staff were friendly and there was a super choice of beer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Wellington also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.