We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant pre-cinema meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kohinoor of Kerala

Kohinoor of Kerala
2 The Broadway | Portswood, Southampton SO172WE, England
02380582770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Romsey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant pre-cinema meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having seen this restaurant on trip advisor and being a fan of Keralan/South Indian food we were keen to try it so we booked for an early evening meal before heading off to the cinema. The staff were pleasant, friendly and polite. The service was very good and we felt well looked after. The food was all enjoyable and we would certainly go back again. However, having visited Kerala and also having eaten in great Keralan restaurants elsewhere it seemed more like a reasonably good general Indian restaurant rather than a great authentic Keralan restaurant. There were Keralan dishes but the menu was not specifically Keralan nor was the food exceptional. The atmosphere was pleasant but the decor was bland and the place did not have a specific Keralan feel about it. While we would certainly eat there again, we are still on the look out for a high quality, authentic Keralan restaurant in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    49
    14
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I am nowhere near an expert on Indian food but the meal my friends and i had recently was excellent . I found the meal to be well presented, tasty and would go back there in a heartbeat.
The food was served by staff who were both friendly, polite and professional.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to anybody.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the first time we've tried here since it changed hands. It's changed, & not in a good way. i wish I could say it was half as good but it's not. The food took an age to arrive & when it did it was cold. The drinks service was poor & at one point after asking twice for more drinks, we still had to wait 10 minutes while they tried to sort another mess up with another table. we will not be returning

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fab local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here twice in the past three months, and each meal has been excellent. The service is good and the food is even better...we will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham O, Owner at Kohinoor of Kerala, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments.We hope to see you soon again.Thank you for choosing Kohinoor of Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A very ordinary looking curry shop serving some fantastic dishes....try the lamb ulathiya masala....ask the waiter for their recommendations.......go off piste,.....however Tarka Dahl was also delicious.....as was garlic chicken

The decor of the place is basic, but go for the food and visit the kitchens. Price is very reasonable, if it is busy be prepared to wait.....good food takes time.....looking forward to going back...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohinoor of Kerala also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kohinoor of Kerala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohinoor of Kerala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.