We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Island

Blue Island
198 above bar street, Southampton so14 7dw, England
02380635045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: English, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional English and Greek food. Breakfast, lunch, Thursday Friday and Saturday nights from 18:00 till 22:00 traditional Greek food (mezedes)
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We've wanted to come to Blue Island for ages as it's had such good reviews and finally we had dinner here tonight! The food, service and atmosphere is excellent. We had grilled halloumi as a starter which was delicious and was served quickly. For mains we had the lamb kleftiko which was melt in your mouth and the mixed souvlaki - so tasty! Mains come with chips and Greek salad too. The meals were so filling we didn't order dessert but we had a lovely surprise of complementary baklava. It was so delicious! The owners even gave us some more to take away - so sweet! It is really homely here, with friendly staff and traditional music in the background - I literally felt like I was on holiday! We will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    29
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I love Greek food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I came here for my birthday meal with my bf and it does not disappoint! It is not the most glamorous of settings but the food and service makes up for it. We had the 15 dish meze and wow it was fantastic! By the time the last few dishes came we were dreading it (in a good way) as we were so full. Love the variety and even the chef came to our table to present some fiery tick with the saganaki. The service was lovely too, I would recommend this to those who love Greek or would like to try a different cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great lunch - need to try a weekend evening meal experience now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We've been to the Blue Island restaurant several times now and the food stays at a consistently high standard and is very reasonably priced. Although Christina was away today, we still got a very warm welcome and felt very at home immediately. We had five starters between four of us, a bowl of french fries, a bottle of wine and coffees and the bill was about £10 per head. The owner is gradually improving the facilities and the toilets are now spotless, which will satisfy those who judge a restaurant by the quality of its loos rather than its food! Next time we want to sample the evening weekend atmosphere at this gem of a restaurant in the heart of Southampton.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value authentic meze, cooked over real charcoal fire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

It's quite a casual place with a warm friendly atmosphere and we go there regularly. They serve a 15-dish meze marathon for under £18! We never managed to finish all of it, but they are happy to box it for you.

All the meat (except the kleftiko) is grilled over real charcoal!!! The kleftiko is authentically cooked for hours in the oven. We had some of it boxed, and it was tender and juicy even after 3 days in fridge.
The salad comes with generous portion of feta cheese. The dolmades are delicious and made the cypriot way with vine leaves, mince meat and rice. The chicken souvla was amazing.

The wine is cheap and good but limited range. They also offer a discount for students.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you want to taste authentic home-made food, that's the perfect place to go in.
Relaxing and warm, nice atmosphere and hospitality. Food is nice and if you have a big appetite try the meze platter...WOW! It's endless.
I went there lunchtime, so we only paid 13,50 for 17 courses! I bet dinner time may be a bit more expensive, but it's worth it!
The only disappointing thing about the place is the way drinks are served. We paid 2£ for a glass of coca cola from the bottle! That's not very nice I must say.
Next time we will only ask for water.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Island also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Blue Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.