We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sandy H.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed overnight on the way over to the Isle of Wight.
Reception very efficient. Room eight on ground floor which was excellent, comfy bed.
Our evening meal very good. Bar service good.
Good seating areas around.
Really good English breakfast hot & tasty all included in the price.
Reception on checking out very friendly special thanks to Louise & Febin.
We would certainly stay again.
Anybody thinking of staying here we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    292
    173
    50
    51
See reviews for
251
199
44
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is my 3rd stay at the this hotel. I have read some critical comments about the availability of breakfast items, but my experience in that respect has always been very good.
On this occasion I had to take my wife for a scheduled operation at Southampton General for 7:30am - hence the overnight stay in the hotel the night before. The hospital unexpectedly told me that she could be discharged the same afternoon... so I had to consider what to do all day. The hotel receptionist listened to my predicament and then offered me a late check-out at 2pm - free of charge. Now that is what I call service.
This is certainly my hotel of choice when in the area. And very cheap fuel at Sainsbury's superstore just down the road.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed here whilst attending a cricket match. The hotel is very basic, the staff are average. When we arrived, there was no music in the reception area or the bar which for us was very good. Because of the Cricket Match the prices were very expensive over £200 per night. During our stay of 2 nights the weather was really quite cold and the air-conditioning/heating only works when the electricity is connected via a Door Key. Whilst I do understand that this is a policy with many hotels so that electricity is not wasted when the room is vacant, When we returned to our room after the match at 10-00pm the window had been left open by the chamber maid and the temperature was 19 degrees. This I found totally unacceptable on a chilly night in England. Of course we turned on the heating but the temperature all night never rose higher than 21 degrees but it felt like 18. The corridors in the hotel were also very chilly. When we told the Manager on our departure he merely said thank you for bringing that to my attention. I would not recommend this hotel. Also when we checked out the usual audio wallpaper was blaring away, apparently it had been broken what a shame they mended it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

We apologise for the matters referred to in your review. We appreciate your feedback and have discussed your comments with the relevant members of the team to ensure that we improve our standards and service for our guests.

Whilst we note the rate you paid as you were staying during a special event in the area, kindly note that we do offer extremely competitive rates for our guests inclusive of complimentary internet and breakfast that offer very good value.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is not a bad hotel....but it's not great either. Everything was just so mediocre; the service, the room, the location (unless you’re a cricket fan), the breakfast and even the price (which was discounted).

When we arrived, a single receptionist was trying to look after three people (including ourselves) while other staff watched on from the office. When out turn arrived, we were quickly checked in and provided a room on the second floor. We got a little concerned when a couple departed the lift with a dog in toe and realised that pets were allowed to stay in some rooms with the occupants. We love dogs but if there were any dog hairs in or around the bed then we were changing rooms! Fortunately, No dog hairs were found and the room was very clean but small, with a shower (no bath), soap dispensers rather than toiletries and minimal tea/coffee facilities.

After a reasonably comfortable night (although noisy) we woke up ready for breakfast. The servery was chaotic and the staff could not keep up with the refilling of the food. We helped ourselves to tinned fruit followed by dried bacon, baked beans and cheap sausages (avoiding the soggy scrambled eggs). For once, the common sandwich loaf when toasted was probably the best part of the breakfast.

Checkout was smooth and the security in the car park was very good (barriers and CCTV).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your constructive feedback as this enables us to evaluate the service provided by our team and to improve our training and standards further in order ensure we provide the best service possible to our valued guests .

Kindly note that it has been our policy for some time now to allow small dogs to stay in the hotel and we have designated rooms in this regard.

We apologise that the breakfast offering was not entirely to your satisfaction. We have recently added a further full time chef to our brigade in order to address the very busy breakfast service and to enhance the quality of our complimentary buffet breakfast offering further.

We are pleased that you found the check out process and the levels of security afforded to our guests through the extensive cctv system across the hotel and car park to your satisfaction.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeadon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited the Holiday Inn Express in Southampton but sadly found it lacking!
Last Sunday I arrived late from a flight to Southampton Airport (the taxi was massively expensive for the five mile trip!)
I sat down in reception at 5 mins to 11 only to find that the bar shut at 11, just after the bar had shut!
The "barman" was having non of my legitimate excuse of arriving after he had called last orders and would not serve me a drink.
When I asked about room service I was told there was no room service available!
I was also informed by another guest that to get 3 starts a hotel has to offer room service, which this did not!
Staff seemed almost to gloat over calling time and I was reminded of the dreaded "Old Days" when you had money to spend, wanted to spend it, but were barred by some stupid rules!
I didn't like this experience one bit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel and please accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Kindly note that Holiday Inn Express properties such as the property you stayed in , are not permitted to provide room service under our brand standards, as this is differentiator between the Holiday Inn Express and the Holiday Inn brand.

By way of information, our kitchen prepares fresh dinner from 18.00 - 22.00 daily in accordance with our published opening hours, and after that time there is nobody available in the kitchen to prepare any food. I apologise that due to your very late arrival at 23.00 the kitchen had closed.

Whilst our bar is open until midnight Monday to Saturday, it does close at 23.00 in accordance with our published time. Whilst last orders had been announced in the bar at 23.00, I am very sorry that the waiter did not at least offer you some beverage service at 23.15 when you asked for a drink, as whilst the beer fonts had all been dismantled and shut, he could and should have offered you a drink from the bottled selection even though he had closed the bar. As a result of your feedback he has received further training and is fully aware that he should have gone the extra mile to ensure you were satisfied which I apologise he did not do on this occasion.

For your future travels, kindly note that we have a recommended local mini cab company that offers very competitive rates from the airport which is only minutes away

We thank you for your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and restoring your confidence in our hotel.

Regards

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate a friend's birthday and also to attend the nearby international cricket match. We chose the hotel primarily for it's good location to the Ageas Bowl cricket stadium. Because of the cricket being played we paid nearly £200 per night so therefore had the right to expect good service for our hard earned money.
Our initial impressions of the hotel were good with adequate, free parking. Check in was fine, we particularly liked being offered a room choice, but there were limited facilities at the hotel. Free wi-fi in the rooms was a recent addition to the facilities but beside that, and free newspapers in the hotel foyer, there were very little other extras.
On the first night we ate in the restaurant. We found the menu quite limited and a bit pricey for the quality of food, but our biggest complaint was the poor service. There were clearly not enough staff to meet the demands of the clientele. I understand that in tough economic times cutbacks have to be made but the poor staff were stretched to the limits. In the hotel's defence we were warned that there would be a wait of about 30 minutes due to the restaurant being busy so could have chosen to go somewhere else. However, we had just driven for nearly 3 hours so didn't want to have to go out searching for another restaurant.
The rooms themselves were ok - nicely decorated and a reasonable size. The pillows were also very comfortable with the choice of a firm or soft option. The only downside was that the bed was only a standard double and was very springy. The room was quite cold and no amount of fiddling with the controls managed to warm it up. The shower room was very clean. There was a flat screen TV which showed the freeview channels.
Breakfast was more than adequate offering a selection of hot and cold foods.
As our stay progressed we warmed to the hotel and were able to appreciate that the staff do try their best under challenging circumstances - for that they can't be faulted..
Would we return to this hotel? Maybe. It is certainly a terrific location if you are going to the cricket - if not a bit pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your 3 night stay whilst attending the Cricket at the adjacent Ageas Bowl.

We appreciate your detailed feedback and thank you very much for your recognition of the efforts of our team, the high standards of cleanliness, and your appreciation of the introduction of the free internet we now provide to our guests in addition to the complimentary breakfast we include.

Our Conservatory restaurant is very popular and due to the fact that all meals are freshly prepared to order, at very busy times this unfortunately means that there are some delays in service for which I apologise. We have recently introduced a further member to our brigade and hope that this will assist in service time.

We thank you very much for your custom and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Southampton area or to view the cricket !

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights,good clean comfortable hotel. Good selection of bar food and excellent breakfast which was included in the price. It has three floors we were offered any floor we took top floor it was quiet all night. Would stay again. Nice polite helpful staff

Room Tip: as above we went to top floor(level three).that way cant hear people walking above you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Highly Valued Guest

We are truly appreciative for your 5 star review following your stay at our hotel during the Boat Show.

It is very encouraging when the efforts of our team are recognised and we thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences particularly concerning the excellent breakfast , your enjoyment of our restaurant meal and our high standards of comfort.

We hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the very near future

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Address: Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel set in landscaped gardens adjacent to The Ageas Bowl and Virgin Active Health Club offering stylish en-suite bedrooms each with work desk and flat screen TV with wide range of freeview channels. Comfortable Conservatory Restaurant offering complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast and serving freshly prepared evening meals daily. Air-conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout. Easy access to Southampton Airport, City Centre, Cruise Terminal and Docks. Free Breakfast, Free Internet, Free Parking for all hotel guests and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.