We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Things I liked about this hotel:
Got a good price
The location - convenient for where I was working
It's clean and modern
The bedroom was comfortable
The breakfast was OK

Things I was neutral about:
The reception staff were efficient but not over-friendly
The car park was pretty busy and difficult to find a space
The key-pad to exit the car-park was on the 'wrong' side
Didn't eat there but the food looked average

Things I disliked:
The usual rip-off price for internet access - Swisscom???? - when will hotels in the UK realise - internet access is a necessity these days, not a luxury to pay through the nose for....
Smokers just outside the front door, so have to walk through a haze of smoke to get in and out

Probably would stay again, 'cos i get the points.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to share your views on our hotel following your recent stay.

We are very pleased to have been recognised for our value for money rates, our convenient location , the good breakfast we offer and the high levels of cleanloiness and modern design of our hotel.

I apologise that you found our car park busy although we always have sufficient spaces for our guests. I appreciate that the location of the smoking area to the left of the hotel entrance is sometimes not ideal but we are governed by our brand standards which dictate that this is where the smoking is to occur in all Holiday Inn Express properties.

WIth regard to internet, I would like to clarify that we are definitely not with Swisscom. We provide high speed broadband and the nominal costs charged for the internet use are purely recovery of the annual cost incurred in provision of the service for our guests . I would recommend that internet inclusive rate for your future stay .

Once again we thank you very much for choosing our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    292
    173
    50
    51
See reviews for
251
199
44
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stay in quite a few holiday inn express hotels for business. I have stayed at this one a few times. It is generally very well priced, located close to the M27, although not in walking distance of any outside restaurants. It does have a reasonable bar dinner menu and the food is OK, if a little expensive, but they have a captive audience. Service was quick on the night I stayed.

Most Holiday Inn Express hotels are similar and the quality in my opinion is very good. Staff were pleasent and helpful. Mobile phone signals seem to be difficult in this hotel, but you can get a signal at the end of the car park.

I will stay here again, very convenient and very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Repeat Guest

I would like to thank you very much for your repeat custom and for sharing your positive experiences via tripadvisor.

We are most appreciative of your recognition of our competitive pricing and convenient location in addition to your acknowledging of the good quality of our freshly prepared meals served in our Conservatory restaurant, and the prompt service provided by our team.

The team are particularly motivated by your recognition of their efforts in being both pleasant and helpful and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Southampton.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are a family of 3 and wanted a short break near Southampton. We booked months in advance to get a good rate however that did not make up for the terrible stay we had here.
On arrival receptionist was bored and barely looked up from her screen and gave hotel information in a montone voice. The room was TINY, once the sofa bed was pulled out there was only 4 inches to the window wall no space to the end of the desk and the chair, so couldn't use this unless we unmade the bed and put it back to a sofa. There was only just enough room to walk round the double bed. Double bed very uncomfortable and as soft as a trampoline. Not enough storage for more than a 1 night stay. Nowhere to hang damp towels, so despite the polite sign saying keep your towels to save energy etc, we couldn't hang them anywhere, so we had to have fresh ones every day. There was plenty hot water at any time of the day. The evening food - don't bother unless you want a greasy unappetising plateful. One of the dishes we did send back believeing it to be undercooked, it came back from the kitchen and we were told it was fine. Didn't eat it. We only ate here on the first night and avoided it after that. In addition there is only one till in the whole bar area to order drinks and food and 2 staff. The queues were lengthy to order food and the wait for it to arrive quite long as well. Breakfast was continental and cooked (on a hotplate), all self service. One look at the cooked stuff was enough to put us off. There was a reasonable selection of cereals, fruit, tinned and fresh, yoghurts, rolls, croissants, pastries. Coffee and hot chocolate of poor quality. The servery area is quite small and was very congested and messy and too few staff to keep it clean and tidy.
Although the parking is free don't bank on getting a space. The car park is chaos and by 7pm at night cars are parked everywhere, even blocking walkways. We mentioned this to the receptionist who couldn't have cared less. In the morning it was interesting to see the very large laundry lorry get stuck between some cars, glad it wasn't ours!!! BEWARE - the exit keypad for the carpark is on the wrong side of the road making it a bit dodgy to get out if someone else is coming in. We have made all these comments known to the hotel who have not yet had the decency to respond and also the receptionist on checkout. She just smiled (the first time I think) and said, sorry. Perhaps some of the management of the hotel chain should do a 'secret shopper' style visit to their own hotels. It might be an eye opener for them. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and please accept my apologies for the matters you refer to in your very lengthy review.

Your feedback has been reviewed with all staff at the hotel in order to ensure that further efforts to improve on our standards are made.

I am pleased to confirm that although all the mattresses in the hotel are less than two years old, they are all being replaced by Hypnos during the course of December following feedback from guests such as yourself. We will have brand new mattresses in place throughout the hotel by 18 December 2012.

In recognition of the recent feedback we have received about the servery design being in need of improvement for the weekends when the hotel is very busy with families, we are also in the process of finalising a complete redesign which we expect to speed up the very busy breakfast service.

We appreciate that the keypad on the right of the car park exit is perhaps not considered ideal for a first time visitor, however the alternate is to take out five parking spaces to provide a two way entrance and exit which is not a luxury that is available due to the considerable demand for parking.

We thank you once again for your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the new year once all the above changes have been implemented

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, KY
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good: clean, safe, free parking, great breakfast
Not so good: evening staff efficient, but not friendly, morning better
room a little small
Bad: Both beds hard-I was on the pull out sofa and it was little better than the floor. I slept in these several times, and this is the only one I have complained of. Also, no free internet so we went to KFC which was OK food wise, and friendly. Also walls are thin and we heard a lot of noise at 3 AM.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to share your views on tripadvisor.

I apologise that you found our beds on the hard side. I am pleased to advise that all our beds are being changed by Hypos in December to ensure that all our valued guests have a very comfortable night's sleep

We are very appreciative of your recognition of the very high standards of cleanliness which we pride ourselves in, the complimentary parikng we offer to all our guests, the safe environment we provide and the excellent complimentary breakfast we include in all our rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here to meet up with a group of friends. I use crutches so had asked for a disabled room as I need a walk-in shower. The request had not been noted and I was told that as there were 3 of us we could not have a disabled room as they only take 2 people. So what if you were a family with a child?? Tough luck I suppose, but the receptionist tried to be helpful by putting us in a room near the lift. Unfortunately, the 3rd bed was a pull out sofa and consequently there was hardly room to move about the room. To be fair, I didn't complain as we were only there for 2 nights and just couldn't be bothered with the hassle. It was at least clean. Also there was no way I could get my car in any of the disabled places as there were nowhere near enough and any unmarked places anywhere near the door were taken by people with nice shiny cars and private number plates!

At breakfast the next day, Saturday, we found out that there was 'no bacon served at the weekend'!! Erm, EXCUSE ME??? Why does it being the weekend make a difference?? The buffet was ok but the queue was stupidly long to get your food. The lay out of the dining room was diabolical, everyone was in everyone else's way as they went from the hot food to the cereals and fruit - really needs to be sorted out. The queue was not because there were no tables, people just couldn't get through the buffet quick enough. Only scrambled egg available, if you don't like your eggs cooked like that then hard luck, and only sausage and beans to go with it!! Not the nicest of cooked breakfasts but adequate I suppose.

We asked about the swimming pool which is available to use in the adjacent fitness suite at a price but it was £10 for the day which is not a bad price for everything but we only wanted a quick swim and couldn't have that on it's own.

I don't think I'll ever be going back to this hotel - oh, and my friends were stuck in the lift!! Took the staff over 10 minutes to get them out even though it wasn't stuck between floors!! Left a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late, reception gave us the key and told us all the normal info. Was dissapointed that breakfast was only continental. also when we got to our room, it was cold, no central heating in rooms just storageheaters. Room was very clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.

I apologise that you were expecting table service and a full English breakfast during your stay with us . Kindly note that all Holiday Inn Express properties across the United Kingdom are only permitted to serve continental breakfast with a selection of hot favourites including scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans.

I would also like to explain that the bedroom heating is not storage heating as you suggest but rather heating that comes on automatically when guests insert their key cards in the energy saving controller by the door, in addition to coming on automatically when the room falls below a specific set back temperature.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Easy to get to, staff helpful and friendly, stayed for just one night while attending a funeral in the area. Parking a bit tight, evening meals a bit expensive and not really good for children, (but there is a Kentucky and McDonalds close by). Breakfast was buffet style, all you can eat, go as many times as you like one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Address: Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO30 3XA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel set in landscaped gardens adjacent to The Ageas Bowl and Virgin Active Health Club offering stylish en-suite bedrooms each with work desk and flat screen TV with wide range of freeview channels. Comfortable Conservatory Restaurant offering complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast and serving freshly prepared evening meals daily. Air-conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout. Easy access to Southampton Airport, City Centre, Cruise Terminal and Docks. Free Breakfast, Free Internet, Free Parking for all hotel guests and delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.