We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away fans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Marys Stadium

St Marys Stadium
Britannia Road, Southampton SO14 5FP, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 58 Attractions in Southampton
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Away fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tight ground. Access not great. But no real probs. Tickets on sale on the day which I found a surprise

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, clean and safe environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

St Mary's is in the common design of new stadiums which are springing up all over the UK for clubs outside of the top bracket (e.g. Emirates Stadium, Etihad). Aside from the colour of the seats, you could mistake it for similar stadia in Swansea, Coventry, Leicester, etc. This is the only criticism which I will make of it. Now for the positive side, the atmosphere is great and rarely drops even when the home team aren't winning. Whilst some might say such stadia as St Mary's lack personality, give me a generic ground like this which is in good knick over a warn out Old School stadium any day. Ticket's aren't too expensive by Premier League standards (although it depends upon the opposition- higher prices charged for better teams) and snacks and drinks are the usual inflated prices we have come to expect from football clubs. The club shop is nice and on each of my visits to the ground I have found everybody, from program sellers to stewards, to be very helpful and polite.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“FA CUP game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great stadium with being just a short walk from the pubs & restaurants in Oxford Street, Southampton.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Southampton vs. Arsenal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A good football game, but the stadium had a bad organization. During the match were not any information about the match and on a big screen above the stadium is seen mostly advertising instead of feature match!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Work celebration party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Food & entertainment were better than expected, outside caterers I believe are employed here, the food was very good, the bar service staff were friendly but not all very experienced, drinks were expensive at the bar, venue was spotless and attractive ideal for large functions

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Marys Stadium also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to St Marys Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Marys Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.