We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If all you can I'd your thing this is the place to go.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie Chan's

Charlie Chan's
59 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DL, England
+44 23 8023 3360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 638 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Chinese, Cantonese, Malaysian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If all you can I'd your thing this is the place to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Group of 8 visiting shampton on a sat night. Walked in with no booking and were seated promptly. Good service, very helpfull accommodating staff. Food was good quality for a 'buffet' and great choice. Possibly not my first choice for a romantic meal for 2 but for a catch up with hungry mates - perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Owner at Charlie Chan's, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I remember you all walking in as a large group and being grateful we could put you together a table at such short notice. It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we hope you enjoyed it. Hopefully see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    35
    8
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All round good evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

5 of us went to Charlie chans... Was a really good evening. Food was great, service was friendly and is good value for money. Would definitely recommend! I will certainly be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Owner at Charlie Chan's, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, im pleased you enjoyed your evening. Charlie Chans will hope to see you again really soon!
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having heard that Charlie Chan's was under new ownership we thought we would go and try it out. The decor is fresh and the young English owner and staff were very friendly and polite.

The chicken satay was dry and there was barely any satay sauce. The duck wasn't great and the pancakes smelt of moth balls, apparently this was the new steamer. It was very off putting.

Our order got mixed up and I didn't get my chicken noodles, thought the staff were apologetic there was some delay until they did arrive.

You can't normally good wrong with Chinese, but sadly until the owners need to find themselves a decent chef. It really is a shame as the owner and I think it might have been his mother, were so friendly and welcoming and really were trying hard, but sadly the standard of the food was a let down and for that reason I won't be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Owner at Charlie Chan's, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi there, im very sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy the food at Charlie Chans. It's very helpful for me to know more about your visit so I can put things in place to make sure we don't make the same mistakes. We have addressed the chicken satay preparing them in a different way and from now on everyone will get an extra spoon of sauce with this dish.
Regarding the smell of moth balls, because we have just re-opened everything was bought brand new, we have also taken this on board and have now replaced the pancake steamers with new ones from a different supplier.
We apologise that your order was mixed up. As i hope you understand we have only been open a few weeks and hopefully nothing like this will happen again.
The chef is the original chef to the restaurant and he has brought many good reviews for us in the past and i would really appreciate it if you could give us a second chance.

If you would like to discuss this further then contact me by email by charliechansrestaurant@live.com email
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic night can't fault this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Best Chinese buffet restaurant in southampton. I came here with my family for a joint birthday party. The mixed starter was perfect for everyone to try everything the squid was lovely. Btw don't get scared off by 'buffet' all the food is freshly cooked. The atmosphere was great and the staff where fantastic. We managed a little bit from each course the chilli beef was my favourite. I love this place because there is something for everyone on the menu. Make sure you leave room for dessert we had toffee banana and toffee pineapple mmm lovely. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt L, Owner at Charlie Chan's, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi, im really pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. If you would like to book any more birthday parties in the future then you should also know we have a function room on the 1st floor with an private bar. Hope to see you again really soon.
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Charlie Chan's fixed price menu is good value for money, the food is average, but at the price has to be considered good. The fact that the front of house staff are not Chinese is no problem at all, and they are attentive and know how to do their job.

The food is "European-Chinese" and is fairly standard fair, but is well prepared and tasty.

Would not drive miles to visit, but if you are in Southampton and are looking for somewhere to eat, this would be a good choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Chan's also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Charlie Chan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie Chan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.