We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Horseshoes

Four Horseshoes
Nursling Street, Southampton, England
+44 23 8073 2371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $13 - $149
Cuisines: Armenian, English, British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

First time at the four horse shoes with 3 children and it was brilliant, the food was fresh we definatly will be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food but slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

In a party of 8 for birthday celebration. Steaks were as we ordered, mainly medium. Blue stilton sauce ordered to accompany steaks was weak and very runny. Felt the meals were slightly overpriced as not much on plate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Value For Top Class Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I booked to go to the Four Horseshoes for Valentine's. It was a set menu at £22.95 a head the food was excellent of a top class restaurant standard service was great and we were made to feel welcome from start to finish and as well as a glass of bubbly on arrival we also had chocolates on the table. I will definitely be visiting again! In summary lovely pub fantastic food and great service all in all a very successful evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday outing - Great local pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went to the FourhorseShoes pub on Sunday for a meal with friends and my daughter...

The roast dinner was great with and the 2 courses was good value for money with the service being excellent and the bar staff very polite.

A big positive being, my daughter being very energetic and the management coming over to the table offering us to let her play on the skittle alley as it wasnt occupied. Which I thought was brilliant.

A great family pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Have been here a few times, and the food is excellent. Ditto the service. The only drawback is that there is quite a wait for the food - over an hour today (ok, so it's near Christmas & we hadn't booked in advance) and about 45 minutes a few weeks ago. The food is freshly cooked, though, so don't go if you're in a hurry at lunchtime. Mon-Thurs, they offer a really good 2 meals for £12 on many of their standards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Horseshoes also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Horseshoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.