We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for four” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Crown Carvery

Alma Crown Carvery
Alma Lane | Upham, Southampton SO32 1HE, England
01489 860227
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 645 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Traditional Carvery serving 3 meats Beef,Turkey & Gammon and help yourselves to a choice of 4 vegetables, Yorkshire Pudding,Roast & Mash potatoes and home made stuffing. Buffet style breakfast is also served every day of the week.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Dinner for four”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have eaten at this pub on several occasions and as usual the food at the carvery was good with very generous helpings available and good choices..
However for the first time three of the four wine glasses we were given were not CLEAN !
When questioned about this we were told that the glasses were not dried properly after going through the washer.
Well that is a very poor excuse in a modern eating establishment and should not happen.
Management please note.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich Suffolk UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Ate lunch here yesterday. What a change since three weeks ago. The food was hot and appetising and Javier gave excellent customer service. The meat was slightly dry but a fair portion at a very reasonable price. Well done to the team - we will be back! So wish there was one in Suffolk.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Five shades of peas!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is quite local for us, so we have enjoyed an impromptu evening roast here on several occasions since it opened. It is undoubtedly good value for money, but over the past year or so standards have slipped! The service at the counter is poor. The staff are quite rude, the meat is invariably dry, portions of meat vary from occasion to occasion, and if you are unlucky enough, great care will be put into cutting the last dry shreds from a joint, rather than bringing out a new one. The stuffing is like concrete, the pot of peas contains several generations ranging from yellow to grey to fresh green, as new ones are just added occasionally, the roast potatoes are greasy and the whole counter is littered with spilt food that is never cleared up. When you eventually take your plate to the gravy table, often gravy and sauce dishes are empty, which means that your meal is getting cold while you find someone to replenish, and the whole area is caked in spilt gravy. Just a little disappointing, especially as other Crown carveries, especially the one at Shafleet on the Isle of Wight, are excellent. Some of my family opt for a sandwich at home, rather than a visit to The Alma, so it is not surprising that it is no longer full as it was in the early days!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“poor service and unedible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were really disappointed by our meal at this carvery.
The meat was cold even though it had just been cut, the vegetable dishes were empty other than cauliflower cheese dish and in edible cold roast potatoes. No carrots, peas, leeks.
To top it all we sat and watched in disbelief as a chef brought hot gravy out from the kitchen, spooned the cold gravy from the cauldron into the new cauldron stirred it around and put the new cauldron back onto the hot plate.

The staff member who was assigned to our table was rude.

This carvery has certainly gone down hill since our last visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visited pub 2/2/14. First impressions - not enough waiters/waitresses. Poor waitress who served us was rushed off her feet. It took a while to be seated- about 15 mins, due to pub being busy. The food looks appealing, however everything was a bit tasteless. The plates are small so you really pile on the food. Our meals were around £7 each and the children ate for free. I wouldn't recommend the food, I guess you get what you pay for. We wont be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alma Crown Carvery also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to Alma Crown Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Crown Carvery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.