We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good food but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bold Forester

The Bold Forester
120 Bridge Road | Sarisbury Green, Southampton, Southampton, England
01489 576400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 638 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $20 - $31
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very Good food but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Lovely looking pub, quick service and food served promptly , the only minor quibble is the prices at least a couple of pound dearer than the competition.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    48
    25
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went there about a 2 weeks ago. i had stuffed potato skins with chilli and cheese very tasty but my salad a fly in it i nealy ate it. staff friendly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Food not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice picturesque pub but the quality of the food was poor. I had Thai Red Curry which was watery with no taste or heat served with four prawns crackers. My wife had a pasta dish which was blend and the chicken tough. The wine South African Chenin Blanc was good and the service fine although had to wait a little long to order. The dishes arrived very quickly which makes me wonder about preparation in light of the poor meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Be sure to book this pub if you go for Sunday Roast as it gets extremely busy. The food is great, atmosphere is great and has a big beer garden. Reasonably priced too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best garlic bread and fish pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The food is delicious, fresh and not too much. I was so impressed when I went on a date with my fiance and ordered my usual starter (garlic bread) and a fish pie which usually I would struggle to finish. The amount was perfect, filling but comfortable. The atmosphere is wonderful, we went around Christmas time but I have been several other times of the year and it is always beautifully and tastefully decorated. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bold Forester also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bold Forester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bold Forester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.