We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Southampton West Quay

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Southampton West Quay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay
96 Harbour Parade, Southampton SO15 1BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Southampton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Basic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Well designed room with everything you need including shower/bath, place to put your toilet bags, tea and coffee, tv (a bit sall), free wifi (only 30 mins), reasonable bar and restaurant (soup just canned but nice Camerbert and good value wine). Parking was extra otherwise very good value. Clean and modern and quiet apart from the parents that brought all their children to the bar in their pjs at 9 pm.

Room Tip: May be cheaper to book online ather than at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    640
    255
    47
    7
    11
See reviews for
288
358
35
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a hotel close to West Quay shopping centre, or if you're just looking for a clean, good value hotel with good service - this is for you!

Check in was straight forward & we found we had the perfect base for our shopping weekend. This is most likely the nearest hotel to West Quay shopping centre - perfect for dropping off your shopping bags & heading back out to the shops! The retail park is also on your doorstep should you need it.

Rooms are a good size, fresh & clean - probably the nicesest Premier Inn I've stayed at. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights (after 12 hours of shopping our feet were carrying us nowhere!!). The service was good & food too.

Taxi to/from the airport cost £13 a time & took around 10-15 mins.

I would definitely return & suggest to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This Premier Inn is justifiably the top rated hotel in Southampton. Good size rooms are well maintained and clean and the beds are really comfortable. The staff are very friendly and the restaurant offers a good "pub" style menu. For the more adventurous, there are a number of very good restaurants on High Street and Oxford Street which are about 10 minuites away. The breakfast is very good value and it offers a good selection of hot and cold items, comparable to many 3 and 4 star hotels. Whilst there is no parking at the hotel, there is a very good multi story car park right behind the hotel. This Premier Inn represents really good value for money in central Southampton. If you fancy a breath of fresh air and an opportunity to see the cruise ships sail, take a stroll over to Mayflower park, only 5 minuits away.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in January 2013 after a flight from Australia to Gatwick before boarding a cruise. Check in was easy - with staff assistance at the self service machine. there was adequate space in the room for luggage. the bed was very comfortable, bathroom clean and roomy and everything was very clean and modern. It was good to have 30 minutes free internet time each day. It was enough to check emails etc and keep in touch with friends and family.
Location is good for bus station, shops and cruise terminal. It is an easy walk to the high street and lots of modern shops etc. Staff were helpful and friendly in assisting with directions, restaurant reservations and general information. Sometimes it pays to ask more than one person though as one young staff member didn't know the correct times when the shops were open. We could have missed out.
Breakfast was excellent - we had Continental for £5 pp - great choice and fresh and well presented. The full English looked good too but we didn't need that. We also ate Dinner in the restaurant - nothing special but good value and OK for the price. It was January and we didn't want to be wandering around in the cold at night so we were very pleased to have a decent restaurant on site. It also meant no driving and parking hassles in a place where we didn't know our way around.
The staff at breakfast were exceptional. Always pleasant and very helpful. A cheerful start to the day.
All in all we can recommend the Premier Inn West Quay. It was just right for our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Well, well. I was "forced" into staying at this establishment (urgency/position) & wasn't looking forward to it at all. The location was perfect though & everything else about this hotel was too! That price? Easily up to 4 star standard & although I Initially thought the breakfast was expensive, the choice & freshness was of 5 star standard. Summer berries on my muesli has actually changed my dietary habits & I could not recommend this place highly enough. The rooms were clean & warm & the only fault I could find was there was nowhere to put luggage in the open position. Irksome having a case on the floor. No matter, it hit the spot in every other way. I had a bath before retiring & a shower when I awoke which was totally 'not green' & I so do not care. Fabulous. £31 booked on line? Wonderful room, beautiful food. Knowledgeable, friendly staff. Oh! Dear! I'm going to have to eat my hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good location, clean rooms but terrible food served in restaurant. Had to send two steaks back only to be told not to bother ordering the steak as the cut was bad! Gave the chicken a go but it was preformed processed chicken, not a quality chicken breast. A real shame, if they employed a 'chef' and purchased half decent food the hotel would be an ideal place to stay. Sofa bed was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upton
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed overnight to join a cruise ship the following day. Lovely hotel in a good location for the coach station, docks and the Shopping mall. The staff were very helpful and the check in was quick and easy. The hotel and the rooms were spotless, spacious and comfy. The evening meal and breakfast were very good. Have booked again in May 2013 and would certainly recommend this hotel, one of the best I have stayed in Southampton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay

Address: 96 Harbour Parade, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southampton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Southampton West Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.