We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round very pleasant trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Funnel Ferries

Red Funnel Ferries
Terminal 1, Royal Pier | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
+44 845 155 2442
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a mini cruise across the Solent with or without your car on Red Funnel vehicle ferry to the port of East Cowes or take the Red Jet catamaran at 37 knots to (west)Cowes - a wonderful Victorian port and the global home of yachting and yacht racing. Both destinations are ideal for a day trip or a short break, and Red Funnel can also book all your accommodation and attraction choices - see our website for more info.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“All round very pleasant trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The car ferry arrived on time both ways, had a good selection of food and enough seating. It was rather chilly (end of Oct) so take a coat or blanket.

Staff seemed organised. You have to be patient in general when travelling.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    103
    30
    17
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newchurch IOW,United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“red funnel food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food on the car ferries is normally of a good standard although quite pricy, if you are travelling to southampton and then to the isle of wight it is advisable to eat on the way as the later in the evening they shut the cafe in the terminal and on the boats, very dissapointing as I regularly travel and get on the ferry mid evening, I would sooner patronise the ferries rather than the motorway cafes but they need to let the public know which ferries serve food and the ones which do not, perhaps this should be in the time table

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A doggy dream trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked Red Funnel for a mother daughter trip to the Isle of Wight (left our hubbies at home) and it was perfect. There is a sheltered seated area on the top deck where you can go with your dog so that you don't have to leave the pups in the car - such a relief to be able to do so and it meant we could all enjoy the crossing without the worry of them whining downstairs. We had a couple of coffees and the most delicious caramel shortbread (which was massive, so we were cheap and shared it - deffo big enough for two) and the cappucinos were actually really good.

Our crossing was foggy on the way back so all the kids onboard adored the fog horn! Made it a really pretty crossing actually and although the fog delayed us slightly, the captain kept us informed and better to be slow and safe than speeding along blind!

On the way there we were early and they bumped us onto the preceeding crossing, so check in to boarding was about 30 seconds - a record!

Loved all the literature about the Island onboard and would recommend Red Funnel again. Particularly if you want a doggy break, the Island is awesome.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good entertainment on the ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had two comfortable trips with Red Funnel this summer. They had entertainment for the kids: a funny and clever magician called Huxley one way, and a face painter the other way. 

As usual Red Funnel offered a good selection of food, so there was something for everyone. 

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“comparison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

after using wight link a few times each year , the last time i went over to the island i used red funnell . i have found them not only to be much cheaper , but also much more helpfull , on time and friendly . the hour crossing is relaxing and by the time wight link have messed about docking,unloading and loading up again . there is not much in it . with the catering also better . i will now use red funnell by choice

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesfulf, General Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear John, Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. The team all try very hard at this stuff so they will be really chuffed to read it.

Hope we see you again down here soon.

Best regards, James Fulford, CEO Red Funnel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Funnel Ferries also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Funnel Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Funnel Ferries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.