We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of magic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hythe Ferry

Hythe Ferry
Town Quay, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
44 2380 840722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 159 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scheduled ferry service operates every half hour between Southampton's Town Quay and Hythe Pier, passing by Ocean Terminal that is home of the QE2.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A little bit of magic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It would seem a mundane thing to do, take a ferry from one side of a river to the other...but the Hythe ferry experience is like stepping back in time. A lovely long pier on the Hythe side with good views up and down the river; either to walk along reading all the dedications to people who evidently loved the place or take the funny old-style train. Hythe itself is compact and pretty (near the pier) with plenty of cafes. A lovely day out from Southampton.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    105
    17
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hythe ferry is I believe the oldest in Europe, a great experience taking the train along the jetty then boarding a ferry to southampton. Saves the driving into town and is a good trip for visitors. Also you don't have to worry about drink driving

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It does what it says....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Basic ferry, I use it when I don't drive to Southampton. Nice long walk to the ferry along the pier or take the antiquated train to the ferry....I enjoy every time I use it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“For the young at heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This little tub of a ferry runs from Southampton over to Hythe and then connects with the pier train into the town. It is fun for all ages and you feel like you have slipped back to your bucket and spade days. You can usually see several big liners in berth waiting to go out on their voyages. Hythe itself is a small town with good amenities such as pubs, shops, library and an excellent Italian restaurant called La Vista where the fish is always varied and excellent although it will also please meat eaters and vegetarians. From its decking on a marina, you can see more boats.
We eat there quite often and take the ferry whenever we go there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I have used this service as part of my travel to the Isle of Wight. So much cheaper to park my car in Jones Lane car park in Hythe, then a five minute walk to the little train and then walk on to the ferry.

Just make sure you have:
1) sufficient change for the car park.
2) sufficient change for the ferry crossing as the train fee is included. They don't take plastic or cheques.
3) something warm to wear during the train ride and on the ferry during the winter as there is no heating on either, and on the ferry it can be quite exposed - but great and refreshing in the summer.

The ferry crossing is punctual and makes it a pleasant trip to and from Southampton. If you make the trip in reverse, parking in Southampton, it is horrendous trying to park a car, and when you do, you risk paying a penalty of a parking fine if you exceed the parking time. You can't blame the ferry company as they don't have anything to do with the parking company.

So, in the end - for a good hassle free experience and to make a cheaper excursion by foot, leave the car at Hythe, I fully recommend using this ferry.

Yes it's been in use for years - by reading the notices within the train and along the pier. It really is a step back in time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hythe Ferry also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Hythe Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hythe Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.