We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solent Sky Museum

Solent Sky Museum
Albert Road South | (Near Ocean Village), Southampton SO14 3FR, England
+44 23 8063 5830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 159 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Solent Sky Museum showcases the history of aviation in Southampton - Spitfire City - and the surrounding Solent area.Geographically this was the most important area in the country, perhaps the world, for aircraft experimental and development work between 1908 and the late 1960s. 26 aircraft companies set up shop in the area, and many of the world’s greatest aircraft, including the legendary Spitfire, first took to the air in the skies over Southampton.We have 18 complete airframes, including a Supermarine Spitfire and Supermarine S6a (N248), and also 4 cockpit sections. We also have a comprehensive collection of aero-engines.Our mighty Sandringham Flying Boat was originally built as a Short Sunderland in 1943, and converted to a passenger aircraft after the war. Visitors are welcome to board the aircraft to sample the luxury of air travel in the romantic era of the great flying boats, and guided tours of the flight deck are also available.Kids (and big kids) can also imagine what it would be like to fly a jet fighter while sat in the cockpits of our Supermarine Swift and Harrier Jump Jet. Our new Schneider Trophy Exhibition is now open, with its record-breaking centrepiece the S6a. Video stock footage of these legendary races and artefacts from the time illustrate the drama and romance of the fastest race in history.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited the museum on a quiet Sunday afternoon and the staff were very friendly and knew all about every inch of their museum. They were passionate and informative and also very good with the 4 children we had between us two couples. It is one of the best museum visits we have ever done and the kids really enjoyed the experience. Really worth the visit to remember why Southampton has such a rich aviation history.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    51
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've driven past this museum many times so today my mate John & I decided to visit .Wow what a lovely little museum lots to see the Sandringham flying boat was very interesting we even sat in the cockpit . The staff were very friendly and informative this museum is worth searching out (near the entrance to ocean village).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is quite simply one of the best museum experiences I have ever had! The exhibits are well presented and the staff are extraordinarily knowledgable and very willing to offer interesting and informative advice. I can whole heatedly recommend a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Often "forgotten" by the City Council, for some reason, this museum is a little treasure trove. It is run by people who are total enthusiasts about planes, air travel, and local history. Southampton's got an incredible history when it comes to flying, not least because the Spitfire was developed nearby, and indeed, the museum was once known as the Mitchell Museum. The staff there are always delighted to chat about the displays and exhibits. My own father has an exhibit there (a scale model of a Spitfire in training colours), and also my late father-in-law, who prepared the Folland Gnat for display in the museum. The museum is literally built around the flying boat, which is colossal, and recalls the era when flying really was luxurious. The Schneider Trophy planes also recall an earlier era of flying, and there are some extraordinary photographs and other memorabilia recording this. You might be able to tell that I love this museum - it deserves far more publicity than it ever gets, so go along and have a great day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This museum used to be called the Aviation museum. I looked for that and failed to find it. If you set out for Ocean village from town you will see signs to it (that is the Solent sky Museum). It is packed with favourites and rare aircraft. You can clamber into the cockpit to a gigantic flying boat. Wonderful for a photography project. Usually many enthusiastic knowledgeable helpers to provide information.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solent Sky Museum also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Solent Sky Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solent Sky Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.