We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Southampton to your Saves list
Travelodge Southampton
144 Lodge Road, Southampton SO14 6QR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in July 2014. The hotel has been refurbished and is very clean and comfortable. Reception (Julie) was extremely helpful on checking in and also gave good advice on places to eat locally.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter - I was on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
23
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A Clean and easy to find and access Great if like me you have mobility issues. No steps nice flat ground grip rails in bathroom are well placed. The downfall was the noise from the traffic outside has on a main road. vey good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Parking costs £3 per 24 hour stay; can only park per 24 hour sessions.
Very noisy if facing main road in hotel.
I had to leave my room twice during night due to a person smoking in their room; I realise I was unlucky to experience this.
Rooms clean, but bit tired.
Good location for things near Southampton.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Travelodge was easy to find, parked the car in the car park, just 15 minute walk from town centre. Rooms clean, and well maintained. The introduction of new size bed and additional pillows was a major improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived at the venue and was able to park in the hotel car park, the payment machine situated at the entrance was easy to navigate and a charge of £3 for 24 hours was more than reasonable for its locality. At the check-in we greeted cheerily by Jazz who advised that we were situated on the recently refurbished 5th floor and were overlooking the rear of the hotel away from the main road. The room was clean and well presented if a little short on coffee/sugar sachet supplies. There was a small bottle of shower gel, but no hand soap but the bathroom was clean and functional. The foyer had a mix of vending machines if required. The hotel was a 20/25 min walk from Oxford Street where a number of bars and restaurants are located and similar to West Quay. The bed was extremely comfortable and after a meal out a good nights sleep was had. Would happily return if needing and overnight stay in Soton.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It seems unfair to tarnish one Travelodge with such comments, however having stayed in 2 of their "hotels" in recent months, and having experienced the same issues both times, I feel it is only right that they realise they can't continue to treat customers as they wish.

When staying in Bath recently, they got our booking wrong and we ended up with a double room instead of a twin - a one off occurrence you would think, and certainly not something they would repeat with the same customer - I was wrong.

Upon arriving at Southampton on Friday, we were told that unfortunately we had two double rooms instead of one double and a twin - and whilst the chap on reception was polite, he seemed completely unwilling to actually do anything to resolve this. Now - this was after I had ensured I had booked a twin when booking, and after I had contacted Travelodge during the week to remind them to ensure one of the rooms was a twin room and not a double - and they still got it wrong.

Result - I ended up having to share a room and bed with my father for the weekend - and whilst I'm not concerned about sleeping next to him, it was uncomfortable for both of us.

This company seems to think they can treat customers as they so wish - and whilst the reception staff were polite each time I spoke to them, they appeared to have no intention of actually doing anything to solve the issue or to help us out, instead saying "oh we'll let you know if there's anything we can do".

As for the hotel - it's noisy as you would expect from a city centre hotel, not helped by young lads drinking outside the reception area and bellowing "ENGLAND" at the top of their voices for no apparent reason - the receptionist did remind them that this was a family hotel, however they were still audible returning to the hotel in the early hours shouting at one another.

Finally - the heating appears to be broken as at times, our room resembled more of a sauna over the weekend than a comfortable room - on the upside I may have lost weight due to the heat.

I will not be using Travelodge again, simple as. I have made a formal complaint (once is bad but twice....come on) and am awaiting their response - however my advice to travellers - either go to the B&B two doors up the road or look closer to the centre - the extra £10 per night will be well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff were very helpful and pleasant, the room was clean and large, the bed comfortable with fresh sheets and plenty of pillows, the shower warm and powerful and the location was very good for the Bedford Place area of Southampton. Very cheap for a city centre so what more do you want for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southampton

Address: 144 Lodge Road, Southampton SO14 6QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.