We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Bad Bobs trip to Southampton.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Keys

Save Saved
You added The Blue Keys to your Saves list
The Blue Keys
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blue Keys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Southampton
Lichfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big Bad Bobs trip to Southampton.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked this hotel after trawling the net and looked at all that was on offer in and around Southampton. Our friends the Moule's had booked this hotel as they were going on a cruise the following day and we wanted to surprise them by turning up to see them off! We are so glad we booked this hotel, as the location was good; the staff warm; polite; welcoming and the food was excellent and good value for money. The prices were good; the rooms & bathrooms very clean and the beds were very comfy. Cannot fault this little gem and would certainly stay there again.
Big Bad Bob (Bob Taylor)

Room Tip: Free on site car parking in a nice area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
57
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at The Blue Keys Hotel for 5 nights, it was very nice, staff nice and friendly very welcoming. The first night we were put into room 9 which was a nice room the bathroom was ok the only problem is if you are taller then 5 ft 8 you would find the shower a bit tight on head room. The next 4 nights we were in room 8 which is really nice and comfortable the bathroom is so good the shower was the best. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm you are able to control the heating. The breakfast every day was cooked fresh and you had a good choice I need a gluten free diet and they catered for that by having gluten free bread. We would stay there again good value for money, if you have problems with stairs mention when booking otherwise you may find yourself needing to walk up 4 flights of stairs. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends who would like that personal touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but if the standards are as good as the Sunday roast then your in for a nice stay.

The food was perfect and a three course meal for £12.50 cant be bad, service was a bit slow but they had a wedding that day so not to worry, good choice of starters, main & pudding for £12.50 or just order from the main menu.
Friendly, good food and a great price what more do you want.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Can't fault it at all. Clean and tidy and lovely spacious rooms. Beds were so comfortable I didn't want to get up in the mornings. I stayed in September with my partner when we were visiting family. The Blue Keys does a proper breakfast that was a treat to have and the staff were so helpful and charming and really made us feel at home.
Great bar too with a great feel to it and the menu's were interesting and had such a mix of dishes we wanted to try everything.
Location is brilliant, just a 10 minute walk fro Bedford Place where a great range of bars, pub, clubs and restaurants are and then a further 10 minute walk to the main high street, perfect place to stay and be able to walk around the city without having to worry about parking.
The owner seemed like a lovely chap and he's definitely doing something right. We will definitely recommend to friends looking to visit Southampton and we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for just a single night whilst in Southampton, having read previous reviews.

Welcome was great, very friendly, room was on the top floor, which is great if you need the exercise, but might not suit everyone. Room was very clean and pleasant with everything you would expect, quiet too if you wanted some peace.

I ate in the restaurant in the evening, three courses of well prepared food, which was altered to your tastes if required.

Would happily stay there again. Would have given 5 stars but there was a smell of paint around the room, but it was warm and the I opened the windows anyway. It soon shifted.

Room Tip: The top floor requires plenty of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry that the room still had a slight smell of paint- we are continually trying to use our quiet days to keep the hotel decor and rooms to an good standard and on this occasion the room obviously hadn't aired enough. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the three course dinner. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. If I ever returned to Southampton I would look to stay here first and would honestly be disappointed if it was fully booked.
What really makes this hotel is the staff. They go out of their way to be welcoming, professional, friendly and are incredibly warm, I have to say, I stay in hotels a lot and the staff here could knock the socks of the staff in some of the more expensive hotels I have stayed in.
I stayed in a single room, it was spotlessly clean, a nice size and had small added touches such as a magazine to read which made it very welcoming.
I didn't eat dinner hear but the menu looked very nice.
Breakfast in the morning was very nice, cooked to order and with good quality ingredients.
Finally the décor was very well thought out, taking this hotel above other small hotels.
I would very much like to return for an evening meal and the live piano playing they have at the weekends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that if business ever brings you to Southampton again that you'll choose to stay with us again- you'll have to try the food next time. There are always good deals on a Monday and Tuesday evening- at the moment get a free dessert. Live Music is on every Sunday lunch from now until Christmas and is definitely- as well as the roast dinner- worth a visit . Hopefully you'll get the opportunity in the future. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We chose this hotel as a base for a trip down to the national motor museum at Beaulieu to break up the travelling. We stayed two nights over a Thursday and Friday.
Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and attentive with checking us in and showing us up to the room. The room we had was tastefully decorated, clean, tidy and had a really comfortable bed. We chose to dine in their restaurant on the first evening which was excellent. The menu choice was good and reasonably priced.
Breakfast the following morning was freshly cooked to order and the service was great. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was not as good as the previous morning. The service didn't seem as organised as the previous morning. Perhaps it had something to do with the member of staff not feeling 100% and everyone deciding to eat breakfast at once.
Some maps and information about Southampton itself would have been handy in the room or at reception.

Room Tip: If you happen to be over 5' 8" we would advise you check the bathroom before unpacking as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueKeysHotel, Manager at The Blue Keys, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback- we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed the surprise Beaulieu birthday Museum break! Unfortunately, Southampton have closed their tourist information centre so maps and city information is no longer available. We have printed a few maps of the city but they are behind the bar- I will pop them in the foyer for guests and will endeavour to find some city information as I agree this would be helpful. If you're ever in Southampton please visit us again and call us direct to avoid being in room 9 due to your height :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Keys

Address: 82 Northlands Road, Southampton SO15 2LH, England (Formerly The Golden Lion)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#2 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Keys 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Blue Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Keys Southampton
Blue Keys Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.