We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Landguard Lodge

Landguard Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Landguard Lodge to your Saves list
Landguard Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 44 Southampton B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Although stating free parking only few spaces available so be prepared to park on the road. Breakfast freshly cooked but just average. Loved the cleanliness but unfortunately as other travellers would agree towels were rough. Overall I think slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Apparently no. 1 refurbished but a twin room - others dated but cleab but remember to switch on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I book this about 2 months ago as I won't to stay some were as I won't to see all things titanic in Southampton .i walked all over and went to see a show and the staff and breakfast was great and I was in room 10 that was on the back . I would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
216 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Landguard Lodge is located in a residential area not far from the city centre. At its doorstep you find several other B&B's. Staffs are helpful and correct.

Landguard Lodge is a modest guesthouse, relatively quiet and very well maintained. An OK place for a one-night stay.

We had a simple room at the first floor of the guesthouse. Our room had a separate private bathroom with small washbasin, toilet and shower cubicle. Adequately furnished and decorated, our room had a good double-bed, a small table & chair, a coffee & tea making facility, a flat screen TV and a wardrobe. All was impeccably clean.

Windows can be opened. Between 07:00 and 08:30 a complete breakfast is served with eggs cooked to order. Free parking in the street in front of the property. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet.

We recommend this B&B accommodation to anyone who seeks a quiet night's sleep at an acceptable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We needed to find budget accommodation for a one night stop over in Southampton before getting the ferry to the IOW.
Found this place on the internet. Spotlessly clean room, very nice breakfast and a pleasant host. Thanks John for your hospitality, I would heartily recommend this place to any of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed just for one night, before catching a boat. Very comfortable beds, clean rooms (and the single room was quite spacious with a decent bathroom, which you don't always get!) The owner was friendly and helpful, and made contact before our arrival (booked online). We were travelling in a group of four, needing a family room and a single, which is not always easy to find in the same place, and we only ended up here because the more obvious places were all booked up, but I would certainly consider staying here again - it's convenient both for the centre of town and the docks but quiet and we all had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I work away from home and travel by car so when i book a hotel/b&b i always ask if they have parking available and the owner John told me he did. I got there after work on Monday to find there was only 3 parking spaces at the front which are VERY tight. Luckily there was one available but it was so close to the other car they wouldn't have been able to get in. I was really quite annoyed as i was expecting parking like the owner said anyway i knocked on the door and John came out and i asked him where am i suppose to park? He said find a space in the road which was full, this annoyed me further. After waiting in my car for 5 mins thinking that i wish i had never booked here i found a spot down the road.

John said he had parking which is not a lie but VERY MISLEADING when you have 11 rooms and only 3 spaces. I think he should be more HONEST and say he only has 3 TIGHT spaces.
Also you cannot park on the road between 8am and 6pm also the spaces are very limited.

There are several B&B's on the same road all next door to each other all with about 3 spaces at the front apart from Hunters Lodge who have 10.

He also demanded payment up front and said this is our policy. This was NOT mentioned prior to me arriving. I asked if i could pay tomorrow as i needed to go to the cash point but he said no, so i gave him £100 which is all i had at the time.

I stayed in a double it was clean. Just watch you dont burn yourself as the water in the hot tap is VERY hot after about a minute

wifi was a 4 out of 10

Breakfast was about a 6 out of 10

I would stay again if i had no other choice. I didn't like the fact that he mislead me just to get my business and demanded payment up front.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pros:

1) the room was clean and in good condition
2) the bed was comfortable
3) the breakfast was tasty: two rashers of bacon, one sausage, mushrooms, tomato, eggs, toast, tea, cereal
4) the host was friendly and welcoming
5) the price was reasonable


Cons:

None that I can think of. The radio didn't work properly, but it didn't matter because I could get radio on the TV.

Room Tip: I was in room 5, which had a nice big bathroom, and it was at the back of the house, so was pretty q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landguard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Lodge

Address: 21 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landguard Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Landguard Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landguard Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.