We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously rude staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ashurst Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashurst Campsite
Save
You added Ashurst Campsite to your Saves list
A35, 5 miles south west of Southampton, Southampton SO4 2HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Seriously rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Camped here during September just me and some friends, due to the fact that we weren't a family or pensioners we were apparently the cause of a whole list of problems. We were quiet, respectful and polite to people including the staff (through gritted teeth) yet the staff still felt the need to belittle and patronize us. We obeyed all campsite rules however we did arrive there later than we expected as we traveled from London and did not finish work till later, only to be greeted with "How dare you come here after pitching times", "Your type are the people we hate on our campsite" and "You are all thoughtless and disrespectful people". We were mindlessly insulted even after our many apology's. We were then asked to leave a deposit and sign a contract promising that we stay quiet during our stay... Talk about patronizing! We had staff check on us every day we were there and walking around the other tents in the area constantly asking if we had been noisy. To be honest I really think they had it in for us!

Beautiful location spoiled by stuck up and unnecessarily rude staff. If you fancy taking your family or a group of your friends to a military camp then Ashurst campsite is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    6
    12
    13
See reviews for
38
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

my wife and myself visited the site from the 3rd of september 2012 for one week and had a fantastic time, we found the campsite staff very friendly and helpful and not like previous review, the site was very clean and tidy and a good location for our break, also the local pub does a great sunday roast . Paul and Christina Rochester Kent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

WHAT A GREAT CAMPSITE THIS IS!

Sadly a few small minded people disagree.If you don't care about your health and safety ,also enjoy spoiling it for others by partying with music until the early hours and don't like sticking to rules ( which are available when booking on arrival and on website ) then its very clear - don't book!

We have been enjoying this campsite for many many years now and plan to continue however to hear this year that Alan one of the best members of staff is sadly leaving later this year and will be greatly missed! He has always been firm,friendly but fair member of staff and hopefully see him again in another site as takes his job seriously. I feel he doesn't get the support he and the rest of the staff need,also knowone gets paid enough for some abuse they come across by idiots sometimes.

Toilets and the whole site has always been kept clean and looked after by ALL the staff however for the past couple of years the large pot holes are getting even more larger so when driving into or around the site you find yourself having to drive onto the grass to avoid them so you dont damage your car but I would only class this as the only problem.

Loads to do in and around this site,plenty of places to eat and drink and once again staff always helpful so all I will end in saying again GREAT CAMPSITE!! see you again next year...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well after 4 trips over the holidays to Ashurst it us sadly time to pack up the camping gear. First though a little mention about the site.
Ashurst is a family friendly site with super facilities, showers and toilets kept beautfully by the staff. There is a potwash, laundry, and plenty of places to recycle your rubbish. The staff operate from a log cabin and here you can find info and ice packs. The reception also houses a large collection of paper backs which you can swap or make a small donation for.
Staff are not in your face, just there if you need them and quite rightly to ensure all enjoy the site.
The site is stunning, you choose where you want to pitch.
All in all a little bit of heaven. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wer'e a family of 5 with 3 kids under 5. We arrived at reception and greeted by a friendly member of staff who confirmed our booking. We were staying Friday and Saturday. We arrived in 2 cars so there was a surprise of £5 per night for the additional car. We were not aware of this but couldnt avoid taking 2 cars even if we were.

We were advised to find a pitch anywhere we liked as long as we were 6 meters away from the next tent. We drove round and found a nice pitch and setup. Toilets/sinks were always clean and always hot water (bit too hot for little ones)

The little ones had a fab time. We used disposable bar b q's which must be used on bricks or stand. Plenty of bricks around but on a sunny evening they are in demand so maybe take some bricks or get them early. ALl in all a very pleasent experience in a really nice setting.

Quick words on the staff - very pleasantr and helfpul. Sign upon entry clearly says 'No Gazeboos' so anyone who puts one up should understand they will be asked to take them down. As for other comments on here ' about no logs on bar b q or open fires' these people have to remember they are in a forest, what do they expect? Would they start a bar b q on a petrol station forecourt?

If you obey the safety rules and show consideration for other campers this is a really great site.
I think some people would be better placed on the moors in isolation reading some of the comments here. Although there is no shop/electric hook up you can get freezer blocks for 50p from reception and a £1 deposit. There is a pub, chippie,chinese, Indian piza and kebab shops all in walking distance with a co-op shop just a bit further. All in all great times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Ashurst for two weeks in August. On arrival we found the staff to be very pleasant and polite. You are informed of the site rules on check in and there are notices up to inform you of the do's and dont's. I can't believe all the negative comments on here. The rules are even on line if you cared to take a look. If you are ignorant enough or just plain stupid then, yes I would imagine that the staff will have cause to speak to you for the benefit of the sensible campers amongst us. The rules are there to protect us all. I don't want to take my family to a place in the middle of a forest full of idiots lighting fires that will put my loved ones at risk. You just have to look at Marbella at the moment to see why. Some poor bloke just lost his life, probably due to someone being careless. I also don't want my views of the forest ruined by a load of gazebos. Why would you want a gazebo anyway. That's what campings all about, the great outdoors. If you need to pitch a gazebo then I suggest you book into a hotel. And as t for the quiet after 10:30 rule, some of us have young children who need to go to sleep. If you want to stay up all night and party then go to Ibiza. As for pitching too close, if your tent goes up in flames in the middle of the night ( its possible) I don't want to be that close to you that I go up in flames also. Common sense has to come into this. If you are mindless enough to have such a me me me attitude then go and camp in a farmers field and leave Ashurst for the rest of us to enjoy. Overall it's a fantastic site in a fantastic location and I have to say I found the staff amazing. It's clean and well looked Iafter. It's just a shame that the idiots who break the rules find they have to come on here and slate a beautiful place because they are too ignorant to follow a few sensible rules that are there to protect us all

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed at Ashurst a number of times now for a few days at a time.
Good points :- 1.The toilet block is excellent and always clean.
2.There are no defined pitches, plenty of choice of shade/sun, etc.
3. Wildlife. Ponies/squirrels/donkeys wander freely through the site.
Not so good points :- 1.Right down the far end the ground can be boggy and attracts mosquitoes.
2.It is fairly pricey, especially during school holidays.
3.The railway runs down one side and the road is also a bit noisy.

I would advise choosing a space close to the large open area off to the right as you enter. Keep tents/campers shut up and food out of reach, the ponies can be quite persistent and you will get burgled by the squirrels. It is a stunning place to stay though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashurst Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashurst Campsite

Address: A35, 5 miles south west of Southampton, Southampton SO4 2HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Southampton
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for seasoned or novice campers, this beautiful campsite is set in a woodland glade, surrounded by the majesty of ancient oak trees. Set on the edge of a small area of woodland known as Ashurst Wood, the wood opens up onto Matley Heath, an expanse of New Forest heathland criss-crossed with tracks ideal for walking or cycling. Facilities Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Seasonal pitches Toilets Showers Washbasins Electric razor sockets Separate disabled facilities Family shower room Family friendly site Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps Dishwashing facilities Laundry Ice pack freezing facility Battery charging facility Public transport No pet permitted With countless direct routes into the unique New Forest environment via cycle and footpaths, this is a perfect base for exploring local flora and fauna. From the sanctuary of your tent you may be lucky enough to spot deer during quieter times and see the famous New Forest and Shetland ponies roaming freely. For a walk that takes in everything the New Forest has to offer; from ancient and ornamental woodland, open heathland, grassy lawns, bogs and pine enclosures, Matley Walk is the perfect choice. Lasting a few hours, it begins a few miles east of Lyndurst, the unofficial capital of the New Forest, and gives walkers a great tour around the unique environments of this lovely area. The campsite is a mere five minute stroll to the pretty village of Ashurst, where you will find shops, friendly pubs and restaurants. Local attractions include the Longdown Activity Farm and The New Forest Wildlife Centre. Lyndhurst is just 2.5 Miles away and offers a wealth of historic interest, including the Verderers' Hall as well as shops, pubs and a range of restaurants. Unfortunately dogs are not allowed, however guide dogs are. There is also no electricity, however, there are toilets, a refurbished shower block and a launderette. Pitch types at Ashurst There are 280 standard pitches available at Ashurst. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashurst Campsite Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashurst Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.