We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Casino

Grosvenor Casino
Leisure World | West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RE, England
+44 23 8033 4333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 58 Attractions in Southampton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grosvenor Casino Southampton is a unique leisure venue, boasting an a la carte restaurant and late night sports bar which is complimented by a comprehensive gaming experience for players of every level. We have numerous Roulette, Blackjack (including electronic terminals) and Poker tables, plus popular Slot machines to cater to all tastes. We're open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and provide free onsite car parking.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After booking a table decided to visit tripadvisor and read the reviews ! Being slightly put off by the last review decided to go anyway ! Four of us went and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and evening ! The restaurant staff were excellent, they were full of smiles and very attentive ! We all chose from the £20 menu, this included three courses and a drink, great value ! We didn't have to wait long for our food which arrived hot, well presented and very tasty ! I do not usually take time to write reviews but just wanted to say that they are well worth a visit and I am looking forward to going again !
Just to top the evening had a little flutter and won some money which covered our meal !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorSouthampton, Manager at Grosvenor Casino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit with us. We appreciate all feedback and its certainly nice to read one as positive as yours.

We've passed your comments on to our restaurant team, we pride ourselves on delivering a friendly, enjoyable and fun experience when in the casino from the moment you enter, to the food you eat, to the fun you can have on the tables and we're pleased this was an experience you had with us on your visit.

We very much look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inedible food, complete waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went to the in house restaurant with 13 friends and family to celebrate a 60th birthday. Had a drink at the bar and our group was called to our table and seated. Myself and a few others had Thai King Prawns for starter. When the dish arrived at our table, there were no king prawns, only a mush of tiny inedible miniture worms which may have been prawns on a lettuce leaf, no bigger than a smal fingernail. I counted 2 dried chilli flakes in amongst the gooey mess. It was devoid of any flavour. The main couse followed the same theme. Rock hard and inedible sprouts and barely roasted potatoes which were also hard. The turkey appeared to be processed and the portions were meagre. The whole table left a lot of food on their plates. The dessert was a white chocolate mouse which was edible but completely bland. Normally I wouldn't pay up front for a meal, however this was a surprise birthday and the meal had cost us 37 pounds a head up front. We complained to the waitress who said she would speak to the manager. While waiting for a response, my wife noticed another large table nearby which also had left most of their food on the plate. They confirmed their food was as bad as ours. After a long period of time and no response from the management, my wife sought out the manager. He was extremely rude and unable to see any fault with his food. He was unpleasant and blamed the complaints he had recieved on my wife stirring up a bit of unrest. After much arguing, as some kind of gesture, he decided to try to appease us by giving us 5 pounds in chips to play with. Not great as there was still no way the experience was worth anything close to that. It completely ruined our evening and the old man's birthday party. Having said that, the food in the bar, burger and chips etc, looked and smelled delicious. I would not return to this casino again and would advise you to do so with caution.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A good night out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

You can have a good night out at the Grosvenor even if you don't gamble. The food is excellent at a very reasonable price and drinks are pub prices. They often have things going on so it is worth giving them a ring beforehand.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorSouthampton, Manager at Grosvenor Casino, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we're pleased you've picked up on the fact that we arent just a casino and welcome people to join us for just a drink at the bar to meet friends or a spot of lunch before hitting the shops! We hope we've created a warm, friendly and relaxed environment for people to enjoy and look forward to welcoming you to Grosvenor Southampton again soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A great night out with excellent food and drink friendly staff and won a few pounds on the tables all in all......perfect. Door staff very helpful in getting taxis

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrosvenorSouthampton, Manager at Grosvenor Casino, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, its always nice to recieve feedback from our customers and we're really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you to Grosvenor Southampton again soon. Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loads of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Lots of fun, a little sureal - no matter what time of night it is always daytime in here. Just make sure you don't spend too much money :)!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grosvenor Casino also viewed

 

Been to Grosvenor Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.