We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Restaurant

Boathouse Restaurant
29Shamrock Way | Hythe Marina, Southampton LL14 5AD, England
01691 772493
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #346 of 673 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Southampton UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Telephoned the Boathouse to book for a table of 10 for a Sunday lunchtime 2 weeks in advance. We had people coming from Germany and 2 were vegetarians. We had checked the online menu which only had one vegetarian choice of main meal but we were informed that they could also do a vegetarian risotto. I was just about to go ahead with the booking when I was told that we had to pre order. When I explained that would be difficult because 5 people were coming from Germany I was then told that 5 of us would have to pre order. I thought this was supposed to be a restaurant!! and how are you supposed to know what you want to eat in 2 weeks time!! Needless to say we are going elsewhere. The Boathouse can obviously afford to turn people away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Didn't hang around to try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

First time visit to hythe and walked to this lovely location. Read the menu board on the wall and all sounded good. Only two other customers and 4 members of staff. Took a seat on the decking and waited. Waitress walked by and we said hello. She carried on inside. We waited 10 more minutes and no one came to take our order. We were in clear view of the 4 staff members stood chatting behind the bar. Finally we decided to check indoors to see if maybe it wasn't table service. The staff member said it wasnt and that it should say that on the signs on the table. ( none of the tables had anything on them? ) we advised her of this and she just said "oh". No offer to fetch a menu or anything.

Needless to say we just left and went elsewhere. Got the impression that the owner/s were not on site and hence staff didn't seem interested.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently booked a table for 8 at the Boat House to entertain a very special friend from the Falkland Islands. First of all not every thing was available on the menu that really was not a problem however we then waited one and a half hours for our food to be served and when it did arrive one order was missing and clearly they had forgotten it. However the food was lovely and living 2 mins from the Boat House we have often eaten there. As you can imagine the bill with drinks was not cheap so we thought we would just mention our concerns. I spoke to a young gentleman who took on board what I was saying but just said sorry and will you come back ! We most certainly were not looking for any freebies just a genuine apology !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked a table for four for Mothering Sunday. To begin, it was not clear where the main entrance was, we walked past a mediocre bar entrance which had a step, and my son and I went to look for the proper entrance thinking there would be a ramp. My elderly mother in law couldn't stand for long waiting in the cold and we had to ask where the entrance was, it indeed turned out to be up the step straight into an indifferent looking bar. The inside was dingy, green venetian blinds and poor lighting. Luckily we had requested a window seat so that my mother in law could see as she is partially sighted.
We had seen a menu online, and although it was £25 for two courses which we thought quite pricey, we went ahead and booked. The menu was not the one we had seen online (which looked quite nice) but a supposed Mother's Day menu, with a limited choice of ordinary dishes, no coffee included. We ordered Roast Beef which was gristly, and served with an oversized yorkshire pudding and vegetables. My husbands mother had Shepherds Pie which she found difficulty to eat as it was in a separate dish. We tried the White Chocolate Cheesecake with a dollop of fruit coulis, and the Dorset Apple Cake. The portion sizes were very small and by anyone's standards it worked out very expensive at say £19 for a main and £6 for the dessert. There was nothing to make it special. No flowers on the table, and no coffee included. We enjoy eating out and have a very good idea of prices and what to expect and this was definitely very poor value at £25 for 2 courses or £30 for 3 courses.
• Stayed March 2013, travelled with family

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 visits to the Boathouse Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First visit in September n a Friday evening. The restaurant was busy as there is live music on a Friday evening. The tables are spacious and not too close to other tables. The food was excellent and the choice was good. the service was perfect as it enable us to have a relaxing meal without being rushed. Considering the choice and quality we thought it was good value for money.
The second visit was October for lunch. Being a Tuesday it was not very busy. There was a good choice on the full menu but we opted for the 3 course set lunch which was excellent value and the food was good quality.
Will return again without doubt

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.