We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Novotel Mar 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Southampton to your Saves list
Novotel Southampton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Helier
1 review
“Stay in Novotel Mar 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My friend and I thought the Hotel was very nice and the swimming pool was lovely and warm particularly as the weather was unseasonably cold. The rooms were nice and spacious although the lighting could have been better for reading at night. The location is excellent-just over the road to the train station which is also a stop for the Airport bus and a free bus into the town and the Docks.
Overall we had a very nice stay although we did find the Breakfast rather expensive!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It is great reading your comments of our hotel, the team here at Novotel Southampton will be grateful to read your comments and we do hope to see you again in the near future
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    383
    195
    54
    23
See reviews for
274
347
63
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The public areas were clean and bright but the bedrooms and corridors felt as if they could do with a face lift. They were clean but had a tired feeling to them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post you thoughts on here, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoW
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a two night stay here. We were visiting the theatre and the hotel is in a good location to walk to the theatre. From check-in we found all the staff to be most friendly and efficient. They seem to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

All in all a good hotel, rooms are a fair size with a comfortable bed, sofa and desk area which are more than adequate, all looks clean and modern on arrival and this look continues through to the rooms. Now for a couple of snags, was staying here for 2 weeks and mid stay despite being told to the contrary had to move rooms due to renovations, not an issue but i did check after another guest i was staying told me he had been asked to move, i queried this and told my room was fine and would not need to move then had to rush packing to move to another room. Secondly ordered the breakfast pack as had to leave early one morning which consisted of 2 apples, OJ, water, mars bar, packet of crisps all thrown into a bag that is best described as a refuse bag (this was after waiting 15 minutes for it after requesting it the night before. Like i say good looking hotel and would stay again despite the issues

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on tripadvisor, My personal apologies for the breakdown in communication regarding your room move, this was due to a refurbishment program on the floor you were on, I do hope you enjoyed the newly refurbished room we moved you to for the remainder of your stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding the packed breakfast, I completely agree with you that this is not a quality Breakfast and our team are ensuring we do provide a healthy Packed Breakfast option. Again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon at Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Another stay at this hotel
Service was excellent from the moment we checked in. The reception was aware of my preferences, and also special requests for a quiet room and fan. Due to previous noisy and hot rooms
Gentleman who checked us in and out was very polite and friendly
The breakfast offered a good selection of hot and cold food. Including full English, pastries, and cereals etc
I will say sabi? Was superb in the restaurant and again most helpful and efficient.
Shame they charge a fiver for the car park, they own it and seems petty to me
There was a loud function on in the hotel, but we were positioned away from it nicely
Overall I would have no problem recommending this property.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to Review our Hotel again, It is great to hear from a return guest and we are so Happy that you and your family enjoyed yourselves. I will be passing on your kind words to Sahbi and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assiniboia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived by train from London, could see hotel from train station. Quick and efficient check in. Staff friendly and courteous. Was a fair walk to shopping area(although did find a shorter route returning. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. Not fancy, but the price was better than even a dumpy hotel in London. Could see our cruise ship from our window on the last morning, very close to cruise terminal. Could easily have walked it, but wife wanted to take a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Novotel Southampton. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A nice welcome at the desk. rooms were spotless with typical Novotel decoration.
Staff were all friendly especially a young lady in the dining room - who we had a nice chat with and she willingly brought out a birthday cake for my son who was 14 on the day we stayed.
The swimming pool is small but great as me and my 2 sons where the only ones in it !!
The food in the restaurant was good but limited vegetarian choices. The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices for vegetarian's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Novotel Southampton, I have noted your comments regarding our evening vegetarian options and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#2 Green Hotel in Southampton
#7 Family Hotel in Southampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.