We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your Money and stay at Ibis Budget” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Southampton to your Saves list
Novotel Southampton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Poole Dorset
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Save your Money and stay at Ibis Budget”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having stayed at the Ibis budget and the Ibis on the same complex this time trhought we would try the Novotel. It was twice the price of the other two so expected a lot more. On the plus side it did have a lovely small swimming pool. Apart from that it was a disappointment. The rooms are in need of refurbishment. The shower screen had no seal on it therefore flooded the bathroom when showering and the toilet was a disgrace black limescale visible. The water in the sink took ages to run away. The carpet was filthy you would not have wanted to stand on it in bare feet. We were short on time as we were going to the theatre so did not ask to be moved however if we had had the time would have asked. Did mention it on check out and they did waive the parking charge. Which should really be free anyway if you are staying at the hotel.
Next time we go which is approx every 6 weeks we will return to the Ibis brand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Apologies for not living up to your expectations. As you can see by the many positive reviews we do normally get it right and I will be looking into your comments to ensure we are providing the level of service and cleanliness that is expected of a 4 star hotel. I am glad to read you enjoy staying at our other Accor properties the Ibis and Ibis Budget. Again thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    385
    195
    55
    24
See reviews for
275
349
63
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent a weekend in Southampton with two of my friends. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was lovely each morning. I took advantage of the lovely swimming pool each day which was a nice perk compared to other hotels I have stayed in before. The location is idea about a 5/10 minute walk to the city centre and 5 minutes walk from the train stations.

There were some small things though that let the hotel down for the price we paid. We were not provided enough tea and coffee facilities for the 3 of us and they did not replace it on the second day we stayed. The bathroom had a gap between the doors which meant that people could see everything you were doing. Not ideal when sharing with others! Finally the main double bed felt like you were sleeping on a sofa bed so did not feel very stable..

The hotel is good but you may find better value at the Ibis or Etap which are only next door!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comments regarding the Tea and Coffee and your mattress and will be looking into this personally. Again thank you for your post and we do hope to see you again here at Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I regularly use this hotel when traveling to Southampton for business. The service at the hotel is good, the rooms are equipped with what I need, the restaurant and bar area are attractive and the hotel offers a fitness room with good equipment right in the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel because it has:
- Excellent value for money
- Good service and
- A nice and welcoming fitness room with a pool making it easy to relax after a days work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your fantastic review, we will be sharing your comments with our team here at Novotel Southampton and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great central location. Easy parking and very efficient and friendly staff. Pet friendly and good food in the restaurant.

Only negative was the £9.90 charge per night for either broadband or wifi in the rooms. However FREE in the reception area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here on Tripadvisor, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comment regarding Wifi, We are planning on offering a new service fro all of our guests from June this year which will expand the range of our free wifi.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Over rated hotel. Staff are nice. Excellent food both breakfast and dinner. Room do require a bit furnishing. Superior room felt like standard rooms to me. Hotel had serious problems with heating. They have to sort this out very soon or else I feel they should be downgraded in rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we have noted your comments and we look forward to your return here o Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#2 Green Hotel in Southampton
#7 Family Hotel in Southampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.