We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Southampton

Save Saved
You added Hilton Southampton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Southampton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bracken Place | Chilworth, Southampton SO16 3RB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Southampton
Northolt, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Overnight stay Feb 2013
Good sized, Clean & comfortable rooms. Staff friendly & service very good at reception & in Bar
Breakfast service a bit slow & food not very hot but didn't spoil our stay. Would stay here again & recommend to others.
Nice & near to Southampton for shopping/night out

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonTrip, General Manager at Hilton Southampton, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Southampton.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed their your and found our restaurant and bar staff to be very friendly.

In regards to your comment about your breakfast experience, please feel assured that I have passed your observations on to my Food and Beverage Manager for investigation and remedial action as appropriate. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused

Thank you once again for taking your time to provide kind your comments, I hope I can look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Southampton soon.

Warmest regards,

Richard Groome
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    225
    184
    137
    89
See reviews for
166
276
30
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here in January, arrived late so did not eat. Rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful! The lady on reception, did not pick up her name was really helpful and gave us directions that were spot on! We will be back in april!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonTrip, General Manager at Hilton Southampton, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in January at Hilton Southampton.

We are all delighted to read of your comments about the hotel and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will look forward to welcoming you back to Southampton again in April!

Warmest regards,

Richard Groome
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arrived Friday 15/02/13 and only stayed the one night, A little difficult to find if you havent been before as it's not in the city but about three miles out of the city centre and next to the M27, Very handy for the airport which is only a couple of miles away. Given a warm welcome by the reception staff and given room 202 on the second floor. The hotel is abit strange when it comes to finding your room as you go down a floor instead of up but it only took a couple of minutes to work it out. The rooms were nice and clean and had the usual tea and coffee making items. Big screen TV made it easy to watch with a good slection of channels and pay per view channels. We had a twin room and i have to say the beds were a little on the hard side. Food in the hotel was good and a couple of beers from the bar rounded the night off. All the staff were very chatty and made for a comfortuble stay. Well Done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonTrip, General Manager at Hilton Southampton, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Southampton.

I am delighted to read your comments about the hotel and I am very pleased that my team made you feel comfortable helped you to relax and enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking your time to provide your kind comments. I hope I can look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Southampton in the future.

Warmest regards,

Richard Groome
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Overall this is a nice clean hotel with comfortable large rooms with all the extras and facilities you would expect from a Hilton. The hotel is very clean throughout and the lobby area is particularly nice environment. Heated swimming pool, sauna and steam room that can be used for free during your staff which is very good. Only down side of the swimming pool is there are no chairs to sit around the pool!

Restaurant is very nice although we were told kitchen closed at 10pm, yet when we arrived at 9.45pm and the restaurant was already closing up. Ended up eating in the bar area but still got food from the restaurant after speaking with someone.

We also purchased a breakfast voucher from reception when arriving for £10 per person. The buffet breakfast was excellent, containing a good selection hot and cold food and worth it if you simply want to wake up eat and hit the road. If you want to eat breakfast make sure you buy the voucher from reception or else its £18 per person, which seems over priced.

Two things were particularly annoying about this hotel:
1) Car park is charged at £3 per room per night which is a con. To be honest given the awkward location of the hotel I can not imagine many guests arriving on foot, so why not just include this in the price of the stay.
2) Three dead fish floating in the lobby aquarium. Clearly these had been in here for some time as one was half eaten and mouldy. We told the chap on reception who replied in a 'don't care attitude' its been noted. They remained there throughout our stay at the hotel, I wonder if they ever got removed or if they were left to rot away?

Overall this was a very nice hotel but we felt it was let down by little annoying things that you do not expect from any Hilton. I have stayed in other Hilton's over the years and this just had something missing about it. Not sure I would stay here again when other hotel chains offer some very good alternatives in the nearby area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonTrip, General Manager at Hilton Southampton, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Southampton.

We were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, however, I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with regards to our car parking charges. I would like to clarify that the implementation of this is to help us cover the cost of security in the form of; lighting, barrier maintenance and CCTV within the car park. This charge also helps to prevent outside cars from parking in our car park, ensuring that there is adequate parking for our guests.

Thank you once again for taking your time to provide your comments. I hope I can look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Southampton in the future.


Warmest regards,

Richard Groome
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent Hotel in good location near M3, Small Swimming poll but big enough excellent Breakfast choices Good location for visiting Southampton and the New Forest. We visited Bucklers Hard on the river for a good day out then went to West Quay Shopping Centre for some retail therapy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonTrip, General Manager at Hilton Southampton, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Southampton. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass your very positive feedback on to my team.

Warmest regards,

Richard Groome
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake district
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here before a cruise, hotel offers excellent value for money and all the extras expected from a Hilton Hotel.
Friendly, helpful, staff, great food superb room.
Could not fault anything, would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel to stay before or after a cruise look no further, this was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonTrip, General Manager at Hilton Southampton, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Southampton.

It is always a nice to hear how our guests enjoyed their visit and we are thrilled you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking your time to provide your comments. I hope I can look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Southampton in the future.


Warmest regards,

Richard Groome
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Check in was friendly and efficient, and our room was clean and comfortable. TV had a good choice of channels.
The public areas, lounge, bar, and restaurant, are all attractive, modern, and spacious.
Breakfast was of good quality, with a wide range of choice, both hot and cold.
The only downside was the standard of service in the bar, particularly in the evening, when we were subjected to a cross-examination by the bar manager, who did not seem to believe we were residents, and even seemed slightly disappointed when roomcards and keys were produced as proof!! I know we had returned from a football match, and our standard of dress did not come up to her standards, but our treatment was unjustified!!
This would not stop me from returning if in Southampton again, but next time i'll pack an evening suit!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthamptonTrip, General Manager at Hilton Southampton, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Southampton.

We are delighted to read of your comments about the hotel and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In regards to your comment about your bar experience, please feel assured that I have passed your observations on to my Food and Beverage Manager for investigation. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for taking your time to provide your comments. I will look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Southampton in the future.


Warmest regards,

Richard Groome
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Southampton

Address: Bracken Place | Chilworth, Southampton SO16 3RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Southampton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Southampton Hotel Southampton
Hilton International Southampton
Southampton Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Southampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.