We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Southampton Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Southampton Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Southampton Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very clean functional room overlooking car park double glazing kept out the noise Noisy air conditioning had to move rooms staff very helpful and pleasant .The breakfast was average other Ibis provided better breakfasts evening meal of a good standard and good value for money recommend the Risotto

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear shirley v,

Thank you for taking your time to post you comments, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    247
    156
    39
    21
See reviews for
67
271
69
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and payed £165 and I thought it was going to be worth it for that price. I was mistaken the room was filthy, dust on everything wiped the side and dust fell off my hand. The tea and coffee they give you is average but they only give you 3 white and 2 black augers, 4 milks for 2 tea bags and 4 coffees so it's not enough and the kettle and all the tea and coffee is in the wrong side as the socket is the other side of the room. The layout of the room was well stupid the shelves were right next to the hangers so you couldn't even get to them so whoever designed the rooms is well stupid. The air conditioner was rubbish didn't even work just made a noise all the time. The fire alarm when toff at 7am and woke me and my partner up and we wasn't impressed and they were testing it at that time was not on. Overall I wouldn't ever stay there again not recommended at all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Jakers12345,

Thanky ou for taking your time to comment on your recent stay. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and that you were dissapointed with your stay. Please rest assured that we have taken note of your comments.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very good budget range hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy with good quality beds and linens. Central location, handy for shops, port and railway station. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and well cooked. An even greater surprise was the very hot plates - sounds strange but I hate having to put hot food on a freezing cold plate and have even had to ask for a hot plate at far more expensive hotel!
All staff were friendly and courteous and would definitely stay at the Ibis again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear dcticker,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here midweek for two nights with my elderly Mum. Room was cosy but adequate. Very clean. Staff extremely helpful. This hotel is located opposite a huge shopping mall in the centre of Southampton and a 5 min walk from the Station.
Tea and Coffee provided in the room and free wireless which worked well. Breakfast was adequate and I would definitely recommend this budget hotel as a base for exploring Southampton. I shall defiantly go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Barbara A,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I am happy that our team were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the future..

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Il start by saying the location is good, close to large shopping centre / retail park and ideal if you are set to catch a ferry however in this hotel the negatives out way the positives.

Beds are SO uncomfortable and the rooms are really warm! Neither me or my partner slept a wink!

The rooms are really small and basic, there is nowhere to put your clothes or suitcase, now I realise at £49 a night they aren't going to be fantastic but you at least expect a good night sleep!

There was only 1 lady on reception and she was also working the bar and making sandwiches in the kitchen also!

There is a Ibis budget hotel across the road I can't possibly imagine what makes this hotel any different to a budget 1, it can't get any more budget!!!

I'd pay the extra and stay at a premier inn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Jenniferd1489,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we have taken note of your comments. Rest assured these will be addressed accordingly.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spent 2 nights here as we were attending the Let's Rock Southampton festival. Very short walk from train station and about 10-15 minutes into town for bars and restaurants etc. No negatives, all good and would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear SamanthaNeild,

I am grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I booked 4 rooms here by phone through the accor call centre, it was just for 1 night as we were sailing on a celebrity cruise the following morning. The agent informed me the hotel was a beautiful 3 star hotel, I had read the reviews and assumed the hotel was going through a refurbishment. I cant say I was disappointed, more disappointed that I was miss led by the call centre agent when booking. It was not by any standards 3 star.
To be fair the ibis was as I expected for a hotel in that chain, I have stayed in other accor hotels of various grades and they deliver what they say.
The welcome from the staff was so jolly and genuine, helpful and efficient. The lobby area was open plan with a comfortable feel.
The rooms were basic but this is the standard, they were clean, a decent size, and although I would say needed a little TLC,. Breakfast was a very confusing set up, not enough space for the amount of guests the hotel holds.We enjoyed our stay and would consider booking this hotel again on future Southampton visits.
In all, it is what it is and there would be no reason not to stay here.
Oh, the beds were sooooooooooooo comfortable, we all had a great sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear LancashirePaul,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Southampton Centre is in the centre of Southampton, close to West Quay Shopping Centre, the business district, the port and the theatres. The hotel has 93 rooms with wireless Internet access including 2 rooms for persons with limited mobility and 3 meeting rooms. A bar offering snacks 24 hours, a terrace and pay parking are available to guests. Golf and tennis facilities are close by. The beaches of Bournemouth, the New Forest and the historic site of Beaulieu are all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Southampton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.