We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Southampton Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Southampton Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Southampton Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great value, budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located near Southampton Central station and Ikea. Recently modernised this IBIS is quiet, clean and well presented. Our room was located on the 3rd floor, my only slight negative is the lift is quite small and at busy periods expect a short wait. This room cost us £45 on a Friday evening so in my opinion was well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    270
    168
    40
    21
See reviews for
71
280
73
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location is great but room a bit small, but good for one night, which is why I stayed here and a reasonable tarrif. No wireless internet in room, also not free, you have to pay extra for it along with breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel was very good and staff really helpful and courteous. Unfortunately there was a large group staying at the hotel who chose to party half the night!

I think that we were just unlucky and would give it another try

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

By far the worst Ibis Hotel I have ever been to! After check-in I entered my room - dirty towels on the floor, used coffee cups on the table - after reporting i got a new room. So far so good.
No shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom, only a tiny handsoap. But ok.
Then the morning comes - no hot water in the shower. Unbelieveable.
For almost 65€ per night you can expect a little bit more than that.
The staff was not very friendly eigther.

Never again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear customer
I would be really interested to have a conversation with you through my email.
Would you be so kind to contact me at: h1039-gm@accor.com
kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stopped at this hotel before mainly for its location. It is a typical plastic hotel clean and functional and not much in the way of food but I do expect the basics for my money like ohh lets see HOT WATER. I was not amused at 6.30 to have a just off cold shower and even less amused when checking out at the response of just sorry (Did I detect a slight Galic Shrug). I fondly thought that the old days of stopping at Mrs Miggens B&B where I shared a bathroom and Hot water is only provided between certain times of the day had gone but maybe not. Needless to say I will on my next trip be finding another establishment probably Premier Inn at least they have a Good Night Guarantee.

Room Tip: Go elsewere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear customer
I really regret the poor servive you experience with us taht day. Hote water issue was due to an unfortunate valve left close after a rutinary inspection.
Please accept my deepest apoligies.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent 6 nights at Ibis Centre Southampton. Centrally located with helpful staff. Reception staff was willing to help with any inquiry. Rooms were clean, but a bit small. There were no bathroom toiletteries and the internet was charged.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks you so much for taking the time to review us.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Southampton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.