We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food at Xmas Party” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Harbour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very poor food at Xmas Party”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have to agree with some of the other recent comments on here about the quality of food at our work Christmas party.
Tastless overcooked turkey. Tastless undercooked roast potatoes. Watery gravy. The blade of beef was dry and unappetising. The chocolate pudding was nice though!
Also as soon as we left our table unattended to have a dance it was cleared. Wine and Mince pies (which were also ok) taken away!
We had a good party but that was down to my colleagues who were determined to have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    189
    140
    91
    58
See reviews for
84
246
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked my family into this hotel before going on a cruise.

The hotel is decorated nicely and the room was nice. It was very warm even though we turned the heating down.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We had dinner & breakfast at the hotel which was included in the package. Dinner selection was limited for the set amount of £29 per person we were told was allocated to us. We ended up paying much more just to get a steak etc. The food was average, the garlic dip with the prawn kofta was so overpowering it ruined the rest of the meal (even though I had one mouthful). Lamb was poor quality and not cooked well. To be fair the waitress said I could have sent it back.

Breakfast was nice, good choices d cooked well.

Booked a treatment at the spa, that was a nice experience.

We were woken by shouting outside our room about 2.30 in the morning.

Overall the hotel was good, chocolates in the room and complimentary water, tea & coffee.

I think increase the choice in the restaurant so that customers don't have to pay over the odds for a decent meal. Drinks were pricey too but in line with most hotels.

I would stay again.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Impressive hotel and suits its Grand name. Didn't stay so can't comment on bedrooms. Stopped for coffee/lunch. Concierge staff very helpful, had nice manner and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

What brings it down to an average rating for me is the completely opposite service at the bar/conservatory area. Setting was nice and we started off with coffees. Decided to stay for early lunch. Went to bar to order but no-one there and after waiting some time went to Concierge desk to check that they did serve lunch at that time. Concierge advised that he would get someone to come over to our table to take our order. After waiting another 10 minutes and no-one came over my friend went to bar, where she was told that he didn't do table service and we would have to order from bar. Went to bar and person taking order was very offhand and curt with us and made me feel very uncomfortable.

For a 4 star hotel not to do table service for bar lunches is quite a surprise, coupled with a waiter with bit of an attitude lets this hotel down. Shame because I think it probably is a good hotel in other aspects. Food was fairly expensive but we all enjoyed our lunch.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I can only echo the previous review of a company christmas party. The food, staff and party atmosphere is wholly underwhelming.

This is a nice/acceptable 4 star hotel but when it comes to laying on an event I can only say that for the £39.50/head charge you would be better off down the local Harvester. If it wasn't for the company of my colleagues it would've been a huge disappointment.

The food is 'bare bones' - mass catering at its worst:
Starter
Soup or charcuterie which was probably a Lidl selection pack, required no cooking so the effort should surely go into the main... No wrong
Main
Turkey cooked within an inch of its life leaving a flavourless, DRY, dry, dry experience. Don't worry the watery, watery gravy will help that- no that doesn't have any flavour either. Surely any chef at a 4 star hotel should be able to knock up a sauce... The turkey was the best main as the 'braised blade of beef' was tough and dry. A process I thought was impossible when meats are cooked in moisture?

When I mentioned this to whoever was running the event they were wholly unapologetic & said they would pass it onto the chef. If it was dealt with better at the time I probably wouldn't have written this review.

To round things off they employ the worst/cheapest DJ as entertainment and have the temerity to charge you over the top for car parking & drinks (someone said it was cheaper to get a lager in room service) and finally for paying by credit card!

If you are looking to arrange next years party give this place a miss.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Take no notice of the negative comments! We had a great spa break this weekend. Customer service was really very good. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was great- overlooking the city wall. The food was good - all areas of the bar and dining were clean and well decorated. This has the added bonus of being in walking distance to the shops.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a room with a small balcony and seats
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On the positive side, friendly staff, clean rooms with some free toiletries (no shower cap though), well presented gym included, spa, swimming pool. Sky sports was shown in the rooms too. The downsides were the food was mediocre at best, especially for the price. The rooms and decor are starting to look a little tired. On the whole, nothing wrong with the hotel, but noyhing outstanding either.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked hotel for one night stay on bookings.com for a night out in Southampton. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and nice. Had couple of drinks in the bar before hitting the nightlife. Comfortable night sleep and would definitely stay there again on another night out. Didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on food. However, only negative was the £10 to pay for parking!?

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.