We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Cruise Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Harbour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pre-Cruise Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I have regularly stayed in the hotel over the last 9 years prior to joining our cruise holidays. Over the last few years we had noticed some deterioration in service standards and decoration so were pleased to hear prior to our last stay that following a change of ownership the hotel was gradually being refurbished. We specifically requested a refurbished room and were pleased with what we were allocated (room 441). It was fresh, clean and had a lovely balcony even though we had not specifically requested one. Minor point - room was not ready until about 3.30 pm so slightly late. Staff were all friendly and effective - another improvement since we last stayed. Great evening meal in the restaurant and breakfast was to a good standard ( although not a big fan of having to make your own toast!). It's good to see that this hotel is seemingly on the up again - however there's still a feeling that it's not quite where it should be and there are a few minor finishes that could still be improved - ( eg the bottom of the glass lift area really needs a good clean!) we are looking forward to our next stay later in the year when hopefully such snags will have been sorted out.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Alexandra O, Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay prior to your cruise. As a regular guest to the hotel I am very pleased not only to read of your enjoyment of your stay, but that you have seen the vast improvements we have made, and are continuing to do so at the hotel. Your feedback is very welcome and is a great help as we continue to build on what we have done so far. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kind regards
Laura
Laura Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    217
    176
    105
    63
See reviews for
101
294
21
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Excellent start to our cruise, an overnight stay in this lovely hotel prior to boarding cruise ship . Comfortable, spacious room, very good choice of brekfast menu, pleasant helpful staff, we would use this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Gloria B, Thank you for your great 5 star review. It is very much appreciated. I am very pleased to read you had a great stay prior to your cruise. Thank you again for your very kind review.
Kind regards
Laura
Laura Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our travel agent booked this for us as a convenient hotel for us to explore Southampton by foot after our cruise. Some of the less favorable reviews gave us pause for concern, but our experience so far has been very good.

There was apparently a large wedding being held at the hotel when we arrived and it was a holiday weekend, so there were also lots of folks visiting from elsewhere in the UK. With all that it would have been easy for the staff to treat us like a number, but they have not. The front desk staff was courteous and the concierge team, Sam and Richard were cheerful and helpful.

We have had a slight issue with the thermostat in our room not holding the temp we wanted. We are from Florida and 20C (68F) was just too cold for us for indoors after being outside a few hours in 10C (50F) temps. Sam was up to our room within 5 minutes with a space heater to take the chill off and reset the thermostat (they lock it to preset temps for conservation purposes) to our needs (25C or about 77F). Every time we...or they... adjust the temp to 25C, it returns to 20C after a while. We were told it takes about 20 - 25 minutes for the thermostat to start adjusting the room climate after the setting is changed. It never really did. In fact we had COLD air blowing from the vents when the thermostat was set to 25C and the thermometer read 20C.

Finally the on duty manager (Charmaine) came up to help and told us that the new heating system has been causing them problems because the entire staff is not familiar with how to make it work yet and only a handful are trained on the system so far. We are apparently not the only guest to have issues with room temperature. With the system controlled from a central computer that only a few know how to operate, there was not much she could do for us besides provide a space heater and drinks with our dinner. Less than optimal in our opinion. The biggest complaint we have is that it is hard to warm up our room.

The room we had (2nd floor) was fairly close to the banquet hall (mezzanine), so we could hear some of the festivities, but they weren't so loud to prevent us from getting to sleep.

The room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Apparently it was recently refurbished...we could still smell fresh painting the halls, not over powering, but noticeable (I am sensitive to odors and did not get a headache from it).

My wife and I would definitely stay here again...although probably in a WARMER time of the year. The staff to a person has been pleasant and very accommodating.

I would give five stars were it not for the thermostat issue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Bimmermanz3, Thank you so much for your fantastic and thorough review. I am very pleased you enjoyed nearly every aspect of your stay. I am sorry there was a slight hitch with the new air-conditioning system in the range it was set at, I will ensure this is trained correctly to the team.
I hope we may see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Laura
Laura Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

5 minute walk from our cruise terminal. Also very close to Old Town.

Beautiful lobby with weddings going on.

Room is clean and spacious with lovely appointments.

Concierge Sam was great as suggesting attractions, pubs and getting us circus tickets

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear IslandzGirl, Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review. I am so pleased to read that you had a great stay. Thank you also for your lovely comment regarding Sam, I know he will take great motivation from your kind compliment. Thank you again.
Kind regards
Laura
Laura Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights for a business trip. Checking in was fast and efficient. Was asked if I wanted breakfast for an additional GBP10 a day. The room was spacious and clean. Not sure if it was one of the upgraded rooms as the hotel is currently doing upgrading. It didn't look 'new' yet it wasn't rundown. Got a king size bed which was very comfortable. It was a nice room was a view of the harbour. Lovely!

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. I guess I am spoilt as most Asian hotels has a big spread for breakfast. The selection was limited but I have to say the quality was good. However, for the 3 days that I had breakfast in the hotel, the items did not change at all. I would have expected 1 or 2 items to be changed daily.

I ordered room service twice for dinner. The food was good and they delivered within the time frame they gave. Also, near the hotel is a big shopping centre with some eateries and outside of the mall, there are some restaurants. So, there are plenty of dining options within walking distance from the hotel.

Overall, it is a nice hotel but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear LibryaGalSIngapore, Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly a perfect score for sleep quality, very important in a hotel. I am pleased that everything went well and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards
Laura
Laura Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After reading very negative reviews we were wondering what we had let ourselves in for, but upon arrival our fears were groundless. We booked as part of a cruise and stay package the hotel was clean and smart, the reception was efficient we had a room at the back which was large and well appointed. The swimming pool was nice and clean and for a hotel of a decent size. We had dinner in the evening and breakfast next morning both very good especially as my husband is a Coeliac he was well catered for. The transfere both to the ship and back was smooth and efficient as also was picking up our car which was at the hotel for 7 days as part of the package.
Behind the hotel is a shopping centre with large stores for those who wish to shop. You can walk from the hotel to Mayflower Park and watch the ships.
All in all we felt that the hotel was good value and would use it again.

Room Tip: For a view of the river and ships chose a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Parkgirl2013, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so very pleased to read of your enjoyment of your stay with us prior to your cruise. The team and I are dedicated to ensuring our guests have a great stay in the hotel and we take great motivation from your great review. Also that of the greatest compliment of all, that you would indeed stay again, thank you.
Kind regards
Laura
Laura Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Appalling at a cost of £175.00/night for romantic weekend away following an 'all clear news that I did not have cancer' we booked a deluxe room (king sized bed) at this hotel.

For £175.0 per night we received:

Night 1 - we had to move rooms because of the overpowering smell of white spirit (the carpet was actually wet with it).
Upgraded to a lovely room however:
On waking there was LONG BLOND HAIRS ON MY LEGS!
The sheet was dirty - so disgusting.
On pulling back the sheet - no mattress protector, we slept on that dirt, grime and stains.
Two single beds zipped together - very uncomfortable and just not the standard that we paid for.
Filthy mattress, stained, it was just disgraceful
Shower broken (off of the hinge)
Quilt was filthy, covered in marks and stains, just so grotesque (as we slept under that)

Constant interruptions when we reported the problems and then we had to change our plans of a nice long lay in, lazy day around the hotel and we had to leave the hotel for the best part of the day whilst housekeeping put things to the standard that they should have been in the first place.

Manager very apologetic, embarrassed and in her words - incredibly sorry that we had experienced this - the room should never be letout.

We received reimbursesment for one night plus £20 car parking.
We was promised a meal in the restaurant as a gesture of goodwill. However, the manager had to withdraw this offer as the restaurant was fully booked and she was not aware! The manager should know what is going on in her hotel.

No reimbursement for changing rooms, broken shower screen, the constant interruptions, the filthy disgusting bed and bed linen.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean bed, clean bed linen and for them to offer exactly what they say in there travel gui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear DZone, Please accept my sincere apologies you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am truly sorry that despite the best efforts of the guest relations manager on the day that we were unable to improve your impression of us. Our failure in this is very disappointing. We take on board your comments and will ensure to use them in future as part of our on-going improvement plan.
Kind regards
Laura
Laura Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.