We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Harbour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
yeovil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“All right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We only stayed one night but found this hotel fine, the staff were very good, it does need up dating, and as I have read that is been down in the near future. our beds, pillows and room was of good standard, the breakfast selection was good also, we did not have an evening meal there, the location was also good and we would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Nige1945

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Harbour Hotel following your recent stay, I was delighted you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. We are starting a full refurbishment in the New Year which with an investment of £4million into the hotel, it’s a very exciting time and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back soon.


Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    189
    141
    92
    59
See reviews for
84
246
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed two nights here for a conference. Odd looking building but with some nice views and a water garden. Pleasant reasonably sized and nicely furnished rooms. Clean and all facilities present correct and working. Friendly and helpful staff. Pretty good food, tried a special order for kedgeree on the second day but no haddock apparently. Eggs Benedict substituted nicely.
Conveniently located for transport links. Rooms quiet enough for a good nights sleep despite a few ship sirens.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Richard G

I was pleased to read your review, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at The Grand Harbour Hotel, we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the Grand Harbour Hotel. The rooms are big and comfortable, although the furniture is a bit dated. Breakfast is good, with ample choice. Had lunch and dinner as part of the conference and the food was not so good. Staff were very nice, though.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Catalan_Traveler

Thank you for your balanced review. I was disappointed to see that you found the food not so good especially after enjoying breakfast, please be assured I have discussed your feedback with our Executive Head Chef for his review.

With regards to the decor of the hotel, we are due to start a £4million refurbishment in the New Year which will include the complete refurbishment of all bedrooms, restaurant and bar plus the installation of air-conditioning in the bedrooms and new beds.

Overall I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right on the edge of Southampton Water, and if you want to sit and watch the ships come and go then get a room with a sea view and while/wile away the day (take your pick).
Our executive room was quite spacious and it had a comfy sofa and an arm chair as well. The bath room was clean and tidy. It had a great view out onto the Water. If you want to, check out the www for the comings and going of all the vessels in and out of the harbour. The destinations are fascinating.
The breakfast was tasty and unhurried. The dining room was a bit chilly, so wear a jumper. We didn't dine in the restaurant in the evening but we did have a bar meal and it was delicious. The champagne afternoon tea is a delight and there was plenty of it.
The hotel has free wifi, certainly in our room package, and the connectivity was first rate all through the day.
There is a big car park right next door which is payable at £10 per night. Still, at least you don't have to walk too far and the car was secure.
The hotel is a favourite of the cruising passengers to stay overnight just prior to departure as it is just along the quayside from the main cruise port. Nothing wrong with that and if I were of the cruise clientele I would probably do the same. I am not and booked the hotel because it is a 4star hotel near the New Forest. The closest we came to cruising was pottering across to the Isle of Wight...and again, that ferry is just down the quayside also.
The hotel of course does day conferences and on one day the car park was still full when we arrived back in late afternoon. Although we found a space quite quickly, there were a few folks getting a bit fed up waiting to get into the car park. The fact that the exit goes straight onto the main road controlled by traffic lights didn't help.
In summary, a good decent hotel. Tasty breakfast. Excellent location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Martin W

Thank you for sharing your positive review of the Grand Harbour Hotel on Tripadvisor, I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be a good decent hotel with a tasty breakfast and excellent location.

We have 190 parking spaces at the hotel and due to our location the parking charge is set alongside other local hotel offering a similar standard and service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Celebrated our wedding anniversary here. Right from arrival I was very impressed with the warm and professional people we came across. We booked the DBB package with upgraded room, the room was delightfully roomy with a great view from the balcony of the ocean. The bar was wonderful for a quiet and relaxing pre dinner drink as the pianist played. Dinner was Lovely, food and service, I could not have asked for more. Breakfast was excellent, all we could want with an added surprise of a freshly baked gammon! We didn't have time to use the pool sadly, but hope to when we next get a chance to escape.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear 330MrsR

Thank you for the delightful review you posted on this site, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were made to feel welcome.

Congratulations on celebrating your wedding anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Room pretty standard,had a problem with the window when we returned in the early hours,so no point in ringing reception then. nasty stain on one of the chairs that I'm sure could have been cleaned,pillows very uncomfortable,planes woke me in the morning.no view from the window,but someone has to have the back rooms!! The meal in the evening was for a lot of people & I felt they couldn't cope with the numbers as there was a long wait between courses, the staff were very friendly,couldn't fault them.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Bridget M

Thank you for your constructive review, I was disappointed to read that not everything was positive about your stay at the Grand Harbour Hotel.

Please be assured I have discussed your feedback with our Housekeeping Manager in order that your points can be addressed.

On a positive note thank you for kind comments regarding the team; it’s always nice to get such feedback and I have shared your comments with the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After reading some not so positive comments on this hotel prior to our visit, we were pleasantly surprised! I stayed for one night with my mother and father and had 2 rooms next to each other. The welcome was friendly, and the staff everywhere from the reception, concierge, bar or spa are all extremely efficient and can't do enough for you.

Rooms were spacious and nicely furnished, however I do agree that it is needing a refurb now!

Had 2 spa treatments and was extremely happy with them, very friendly, well presented beauticians and the treatments were 5*.

Will definitely return, Thank you!

Room Tip: If possible, get an executive room. They face the sea and are much more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Harbour H... S, Operations Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ollie T

I was delighted to read that you were pleasantly surprised following your recent stay at the Grand Harbour Hotel.

I have passed your comments on to our team members; we pride ourselves on are great hospitality and it is always pleasing to read that we have exceeded our guests expectations.

With regards to the decoration of the hotel, I am pleased to say that we will be starting a £4million refurbishment in the new year which will include a full refurbishment of our bedrooms, restaurant and bar area plus the installation of air-conditioning and new beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Madhu Balakrishnan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.