We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely. Not well located but really nice. Staff are great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Harbour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely. Not well located but really nice. Staff are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely hotel just on the outskirts of Southampton but easy walking distance to most of the city. Three Casino's nearby, and taxis make life so much easier in the winter. Main problem is that the hotel has huge glass windows and in January everywhere seemed very very cold. One of the staff told us that the hotel is up for sale so that may explain why everywhere is just slightly run down? Howeer the staff were wonderful and our room was lovely. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: We had a suite. Go for it! Well worth the small extra payment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    189
    141
    91
    58
See reviews for
84
246
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I needed to book one night at a hotel and thought it would be nice to treat myself to a little more than the usual travelodge or premier inn. I opted for a room with 'wonderful views' (see picture of the view from my room) at a cost of £145 (breakfast included), king size bed and free wifi.

On arrival at just before 6pm I parked at the front of the hotel to see if someone from concierge was available to help me unload my belongings, there was no one available so I set about unpacking on my own and ventured to check in, I was told my room was not ready, the wait was not long but I was still disappointed as I had endured a long drive and just wanted to unload and get to my room, having been told check in was from 3pm I didn't expect to have to wait.

The staff on reception were very friendly but I felt they failed to inform me of relevant information as cheaper hotels generally do, I like to be told where breakfast is served, what time etc. On enquiring about breakfast I was told 3 different times from 3 different members of staff none of whom could agree on the actual serving times.

A little later I decided to pop into the restaurant for a drink and a bite to eat, I looked at someone else's meal and it didn't look appetising so I ventured to the bar to get a bar snack and a pint. The real ale was awful and way over-priced at £4.95 per pint, it seemed watery and flat. By now I was losing my appetite so just ordered the soup of the day, this was a bad choice. It was described as Lentil soup but did not taste like lentils and was full of salt, it was accompanied by 2 not very fresh bread rolls. The staff were very friendly and the pianist was good but the rest of the dining experience was truly awful.

So back to the room to find the mattress clearly needed replacing, the table and chairs are positioned to make it nearly impossible to access the balcony, the cleanliness of the room was not good; dirt on bath sills, under sink and rust pipe fittings and everything looked dated.

I resorted to the free wifi in the hope of rescuing the evening but it was so slow it made using the internet almost impossible.

Breakfast was not much better, poor quality food, most of it cold and it looked like it had been sat on the heating plate since the day before.

On exiting my room, I found my bill with many of my personal details had been left on the floor outside my room, I was not happy.

By now I was really looking forward to check out but was told this could take up to 40 minutes due to the huge queue of people waiting to check out and disputing their bills. Luckily one member of the staff took it upon herself to go through the queue arranging express check outs for those of us who were eager to depart.

To summarise I was absolutely gutted at the whole stay, my £145 treat was a complete waste of money and I have experienced far better at cheaper establishments. I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A party of 6 ladies away for spa weekend for my friends 50th, was bit worried after booking this trip as some the the recent reviews were a bit alarming! Well to put things right the hotel & staff deserve a true review! We arrived early and was greeted with a smile and was able to leave our luggage with concearge,on returning to hotel at 3pm (which is check in time) our rooms were ready, pleasantly surprised by very clean spacious rooms, used the spa facilities, (all clean and in working order) had a lovely meal in no5 restaurant with very attentive staff, after a good nights sleep, breakfast was delicious! We then had our spa treatments, again very attentive pleasent staff, Can't fault our visit, and was true value for money! Well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was ok. The staff were excellent. Just 2 disappointments. The self service breakfast was fairly bland and there were long checkout queues at peak periods. I felt the car parking was fairly expensive at £10 per day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and picked up on of the De Vere deals. The rooms were excellent, they provided ice buckets in your room and service was outstanding. The meal in the restaurant was excellent. A cold weekend so did feel slightly chilly in the restaurant but we were seated next to the heated vents.

Spa was out of action on the weekend we visited.
only a short walk to West Quay shopping centre, great locations

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. All the service we received was excellent. We got a great Winter promotion deal on our room (£109 D,B &B kingsize bed with waterviews), and when I emailed to inquire about dress code (I only asked due to a comment I read on here--there is no dress code) and whether we could supplement our dinner I received a quick, polite and very helpful reply. When we arrived at dinner the women who replied to my email (I'm guessing the restaurant manager) she sought us out to say hello, and was most welcoming. Especially knowing it was a surprise for my husband she made us feel extra special THANK YOU Maricel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have wanted to stay at this hotel for a long time ,having stayed and got married years ago in the grand hotel ,brighton.We have also stayed through the years at various other de vere hotels,and found them being of a good standard.Sadly, we were very dissappionted.We arrived at 5.30 pm on sat evening,to be told that our room wasnt ready and that they didnt know exactly how long it would take as they had been very busy !My husband showed his displeasure and was then told ,that in 15 mins we would be called from the bar when the room was ready.The free drink we where offered by reception never materialized.After 50 mins my husband went back to reception to find out what was happening and was told that they had forgotten us and the room was now ready!
We had paid £290 for 2 nights in a executive king sea facing room.(agoda) up front.
Room was dirty and didnt seem like what we had booked ,so we rang down to be told that we were in the right room.Bathroom was dirty and mouldy,with mould everywhere.There was dust on all the surfuces ,lamp didnt work in our room and lots of cables laying on the floor,luckly we didnt have children as this would have been a safety risk.We tried to call down but reception was busy so we got ready as we had a dinner date in town,and went out.
Breakfast was good,with a good selection on offer ,but sadly the young lady that served us showed total lack of customer service/people skills.We were out for the rest of the day and apon our return,we had a drink in the bar,where the staff were very pleasant and made a booking to eat in the restraunt.We tried again to speak to reception about our concerns, but due to lack of staff,they were always busy and my husband gave up! Food was very good in the restraunt and the staff were very pleasant.
Monday we booked out and only then were we able to comment about dangerous cables on floor,but the poor girl was so rushed of her feet we decided not to comment about the other things as she had a queue of people.
We have put our photos to show that our comments were just.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.