We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment after a long walk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Jolly Sailor, Old Bursledon

The Jolly Sailor, Old Bursledon
Lands End Road | Old Bursledon, Southampton SO31 8DN, England (Formerly The Jolly Sailor)
023 8040 5557
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Jolly Sailor, Old Bursledon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #193 of 638 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $17 - $38
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, British, English
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointment after a long walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful position squandered by delivering average food. Pie was especially poor fare. Not worth the looking for the parking spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    95
    68
    55
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Walk to the Jolly Sailor from the B&B i stayed at and enjoyed there great food menu.
Overlooking the River Hamble and all the hive of activity on the river.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch on a Sunday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived for sunday lunch having made the hike to the pub from the railway station and on initial arrival though what a lovely picturesque pub and setting. We entered the pub and got ignored by various staff who walked straight past us a number of times so we picked up menus and made our way to an empty table. A male member of staff called out to us rather abruptly saying you cant sit there its reserved (no marking on the table) and informed us that there were no seats available inside they were all booked. We made our way outside decided on what we wanted from the menu and ordered (go to till with order and table no). About 10-15 mins after our starters arrived, mine was a bread basket which contained completely different breads than listed and were all stale and been toasted to try and cover this up. The foccachia was hard and crispy cut through the middle and grilled! My husband had the duck salad which was ok but more of a duck stir fry without the beansprouts. These were cleared away by staff and then we waited for our mains and waited and waited and waited...... The table who were next to us arrived after us and ordered after us but managed to get through starter, main, dessert and coffee and we still didnt get our mains. An hour after our starters we want and checked on progress to be told that our food would be at the very most 10 mins but more likely 4-5mins. So we waited and waited, another 15mins and i went to check again to be told that the problem was everyone had arrived at lunchtime so it was busy as they all wanted to eat and that my falafel burger needed cooking. On return to my table the waitress was putting our food on the table and explaining to my husband that the issue was they needed to cook more chips (not very consistant). After a couple of minutes the waitress returned to ask if everything was ok, i said not really as my burger was tepid at best and my husbands burger was very charred/burnt and the small gerkins tasted very strongly of anchovies. They offered to re heat my burger but i said that i had waited more than long enough for them to get it right already. We were given a refund of the cost of the mains. The pub was fairly busy when we arrived but the restaurant area was virtaully empty, by the time we left the outside/pub was less busy and the restaurant was still pretty empty but i suppose in the nearly 2 hours it took to get served the other people ay have been and gone! The beer is good but service very poor I think they trade on looks and location not on quality or service. Perhaps a chef that can cope with lunchtimes may be a good investment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not much in the way of customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've eaten in this pub many times and the food has always been excellent, their selection of beers is alo good. I was very disappointed on this occasion by the very inflexible attitude of the bar peron who would not take an order for fod as it was 3 minutes after the restuarant officially closed. The person in front of me had just placed a food order which made it even worse. Offering me a bag of crisps did not help.

Won't be back, you've just lost a regular customer who in the past has recommended you to many people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Their dessert platters are A-MAZ-ING! Highly recommended. All of the food is delicious, home cooked with a wide variety to choose from.

Went for my partner's birthday and they decorated his dessert with 'Happy Birthday' in chocolate sauce (always the little things that get you).

Lovely environment. Cosy in the winter with real open fires, gorgeous in the summer with the decking over-looking the Hamble river.

Word of caution: wear sensible shoes. Particularly if you park at Bursledon train station and walk up the hill~ slippery when wet (recommended as it's difficult to turn around if you can't find parking at the top). Steep steps down to the pub.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Sailor, Old Bursledon also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Bursledon, Southampton
 

Been to The Jolly Sailor, Old Bursledon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jolly Sailor, Old Bursledon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.